World Skin 1999

In “World Skin,” visitors armed with cameras moved through a three-dimensional space in which a compilation of photos and news images from different battle zones constitute a universe filled with mute violence.

 

 

“World Skin” by Maurice Benayoun was an interactive CAVE installation that took visitors on a “photo safari” into a land of warfare. It received the Golden Nica Prize for Interactive Art at the 1998 Prix Ars Electronica.

 

One had to intervene in this sad, chaotic equilibrium. Each visitor could take pictures and thereby capture a piece of this world wrestling with death, as each photographed fragment vanished from the projection surface and was replaced by a black silhouette. The photographer got a paper printout of the image, and a part of the world was thus extinguished with each exposure. “World Skin” illustrated the significance of the image, since it was via pictures that we took possession of the world—the world fell victim to mankind’s glance.

“World Skin” focused on the status of media images through which realities of unsurpassed rawness and brutality that exist in our perceptive faculties were reduced to an emotionally superficial level. Media made the perilous interactive community undertaking of warfare into a publicly staged production in that they brought everything onto one and the same level. The image neutralized the content. The CAVE installation’s audio material by Jean-Baptiste Barričre enabled visitors to experience this process of submersion as real participation in the drama that went beyond the play of images alone. It reproduced the soundscape of a world in which breathing was synonymous with suffering. World Skin had its public premiere at the Ars Electronica Festival 98.


Artist in Residence:

Peter Kogler, Franz Pomassl

Sound Engineer:

Markus Decker

Cave Programming:

Markus Greunz

World Skin 1999

In” World Skin” bewegten sich die Besucher mit Fotoapparaten bewaffnet durch einen dreidimensionalen Raum: Fotos und Nachrichtenbildern verschiedener Kriegsschauplätze bildeten ein von stummer Gewalt erfülltes Universum.

 

 

In der interaktiven CAVE-Installation “World Skin” von Maurice Benayoun ging der Besucher auf eine “Fotosafari” im Land des Krieges. “World Skin” wurde beim Prix Ars Electronica 1998 mit der Goldenen Nica für interaktive Kunst ausgezeichnet.

 

In dieses chaotisch-triste Gleichgewicht musste der Besucher eingreifen. Er konnte Bilder aufnehmen und einen Teil dieser mit dem Tode ringenden Welt einfangen. Jedes fotografierte Fragment verschwand von der Bildfläche, wurde durch eine schwarze Silhouette ersetzt und für den Fotografen auf Papier ausgedruckt. Mit jeder Aufnahme wurde somit ein Teil der Welt ausgelöscht. “World Skin” veranschaulichte die Bedeutung des Bildes, denn mit Bildern nehmen wir die Welt in Besitz: Die Welt fällt dem Blick zum Opfer.

“World Skin” thematisierte den Stellenwert der Medien-Bilder, durch die die ungeschminktesten und brutalsten Realitäten in unserer Wahrnehmung auf eine emotionale Oberfläche reduziert werden. Medien machten das gefährliche interaktive Gemeinschaftswerk Krieg zu einer öffentlichen Bühne, indem sie alles auf ein und dieselbe Ebene brachten: Das Bild neutralisierte den Inhalt. Das Klangmaterial zu dieser CAVE-Installation von Jean-Baptiste Barričre machte dieses Eintauchen über die Bilderspiele hinaus als reale Beteiligung an dem Drama erlebbar. Der Sound gab den Ton einer Welt wieder, in der Atmen gleichbedeutend mit Leiden war. “World Skin” wurde im Rahmen des Ars Electronica Festival 98 dem Publikum präsentiert.


Artist in Residence:

Peter Kogler, Franz Pomassl

Sound Engineer:

Markus Decker

Cave Programming:

Markus Greunz