Connecting Cities: False Positive

Mark Shepard (US), Moritz Stefaner (DE), Julian Oliver (NZ)
THU September 3-MON September 7, 2015, 10 AM-7 PM
PostCity, Central Park
PostCity
False Positive_1000x500

It is not just the trust we place in network infrastructure but also our willingness to trade bits of personal data for access to online services that render us vulnerable. Caught between ruse and exploit, we find ourselves subject to ever more sophisticated forms of profiling, both online and off. Yet if algorithmically generated data bodies are our future, they are also prone to error.

A conspiracy

False Positive by Mark Shepard (US), Julian Oliver (NZ) and Moritz Stefaner (DE)deploys text messaging, stealth infrastructure, street intervention, and data visualization to enact a surveillance conspiracy engaging the public in an intimate, techno-political conversation with the mobile technologies on which they depend.

Connecting Cities is initiated by Public Art Lab in cooperation with Ars Electronica Futurelab Linz, Medialab-Prado Madrid, FACT Liverpool, Videospread Marseille, iMAL Brussels, Riga 2014, BIS Istanbul, m-cult Helsinki, Media Architecture Institute Vienna, Museum of Contemporary Art Zagreb, in association with Aarhus University, Marseille-Provence 2013, MUTEK Montreal, Quartier des Spectacles Montreal, Foundation Bauhaus Dessau, Verve Cultural Sao Paulo, Federation Square Melbourne, xm:lab Saarbrücken, Sapporo Media Arts Lab, ETOPIA Zaragoza, The Concourse Sydney and 403 International Arts Center Wuhan.
With support of the Culture Programme 2007-2013 of the European Union.

Find more information on www.connectingcities.net

Connecting Cities: False Positive

Mark Shepard (US), Moritz Stefaner (DE), Julian Oliver (NZ)
DO 3.9.-MO 7.9.2015, 10:00-19:00
PostCity, Central Park
PostCity
False Positive_1000x500

Nicht nur unser Vertrauen in Netzwerkinfrastrukturen macht uns so verletzlich, sondern vor allem auch unsere Bereitschaft kleinere oder größere Portionen persönlicher Daten als Zugangswährung zu Onlinediensten preiszugeben. Immer ausgefeiltere und leistungsfähigere Profilingsoftware sorgt dafür, dass unsere Daten unauffällig listig oder schonungslos offen gesammelt und ausgewertet werden – online wie offline. Mag die Zukunft auch den von Algorithmen geschaffenen Datenbeständen gehören, bleiben die Datensammelsysteme nichts desto trotz fehleranfällig.

Eine Verschwörung

False Positive von Mark Shepard (US), Julian Oliver (NZ) und Moritz Stefaner (DE) nutzt Textnachrichten, versteckte Infrastruktur, Intervention auf der Straße sowie Datenvisualisierung zu einer Verschwörung gegen die omnipräsente Überwachung – und verstrickt die Öffentlichkeit in eine intimes techno-politisches Kommunikation. Und zwar just mit jenen mobilen Technologien, durch die sich diese Öffentlichkeit selbst herstellt.

Connecting Cities is initiated by Public Art Lab in cooperation with Ars Electronica Futurelab Linz, Medialab-Prado Madrid, FACT Liverpool, Videospread Marseille, iMAL Brussels, Riga 2014, BIS Istanbul, m-cult Helsinki, Media Architecture Institute Vienna, Museum of Contemporary Art Zagreb, in association with Aarhus University, Marseille-Provence 2013, MUTEK Montreal, Quartier des Spectacles Montreal, Foundation Bauhaus Dessau, Verve Cultural Sao Paulo, Federation Square Melbourne, xm:lab Saarbrücken, Sapporo Media Arts Lab, ETOPIA Zaragoza, The Concourse Sydney and 403 International Arts Center Wuhan.
With support of the Culture Programme 2007-2013 of the European Union.

Find more information on www.connectingcities.net