Norbert Artner (AT) in Cooperation with Thomas Macho (AT) and Ingrid Fischer-Schreiber (AT)
THU September 3-MON September 7, 10 AM-7 PM all-day
PostCity, Conference Square

Since 2012, Hallstatt hasn’t only been a town in the Salzkammergut region of Austria. There’s also a place of that name in the southern Chinese Province of Guangdong. At both locations, Chinese visitors have become mainstays of life on the streets. The Chinese version is named Hallstatt See—哈施塔特—and is both a tourist attraction and a real estate development. With its intact environment and status as a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage site, the Austrian original gets lots of likes from members of China’s prosperous middle class.


To produce the knock-off, Austrian Hallstatt was photographed—meticulously, down to the last detail. These photographs then served as a “template” for a Peking architectural firm. Comparatively high-quality craftsmanship went into the copy of the town’s core zone that’s surrounded by villas and row houses in what you might call Bavarian style.

Hallstatt Reflected

Artist Norbert Artner’s high-quality photographs taken between 2010 and 2014 recorded this process of reflection involving the two Hallstatts. His primary interest is in what possibilities of innovation are introduced by this form of imitation. Thus, his pictures of the Chinese Hallstatt are neither satire nor supercilious cultural critique, but rather expressions of curiosity.

HALLSTATT REVISITED

Norbert Artner (AT) in Cooperation with Thomas Macho (AT) and Ingrid Fischer-Schreiber (AT)
DO 3.9.-MO 7.9.2015, 10:00-19:00 ganztags
PostCity, Conference Square
PostCity
Hallstatt_1000x500

Seit 2012 gibt es den Ort Hallstatt nicht nur im österreichischen Salzkammergut, sondern auch in der südchinesischen Provinz Guangdong. An beiden Orten sind chinesische Besucher selbstverständlicher Teil des Ortsbilds. Die chinesische Version heißt „Hallstatt See“ – 哈施塔特 und ist Sehenswürdigkeit wie Immobilienprojekt zugleich. Bei der kaufkräftigen chinesischen Mittelschicht punktet das österreichische Original mit seiner intakten Umwelt und dem Status als UNESCO Weltkulturerbe.

Foto-Kopie

Zur Vorbereitung des Nachbaus wurde das österreichische Hallstatt in akribischer Kleinarbeit bis ins letzte Detail fotografiert. Diese Fotografien dienten einem Pekinger Architekturbüro als „Vorlage“ für die in hoher handwerklicher Qualität in China realisierte Kopie des Ortskerns, die von Villen und Reihenhäuser in bayerisch anmutenden Stil gesäumt ist.

Hallstatt gespiegelt

Mit großformatigen Fotos hat der Fotokünstler Norbert Artner den Prozess dieser Spiegelung zwischen 2010 und 2014 in beiden Hallstatts festgehalten. Ihn interessiert vor allem, welche Möglichkeiten der Innovation die Imitation aufwirft. So sind seine Bilder aus dem chinesischen Hallstatt weder satirisch oder überheblich kulturkritisch, sondern Ausdruck fragender Neugier.