Visionary Pioneers of Media Art 2015

  • What is this?
    A new Prix Ars category, dedicated to singling out for recognition and celebrating the Golden Nica for visionary pioneers of media art, those men and women whose artistic, technological and social achievements have decisively influenced and advanced the development of new artistic directions.
  • Who can nominate?
    7 people are named as “experts”, and each expert will nominate at least 1 candidate whose accent is on artistic creativity, regardless of the discipline, technology or form of expression in which it is manifested. Only people still alive should be nominated. For further information about the Visionary Pioneers of Media Art – experts, please visit:
  • Who can vote?
    All former winners of a Golden Nica can vote. At present, this is a group of 230 people, a distinguished community of consummate artists and visionaries in their own right. Each of them has one vote to select the final winner.
  • Schedule
    Period for deliberation (extended): March 11th to April 8th 2015
    Period for voting: April 9th to April 20th 2015
    Period for the run-off ballot: April 21st to April 27th 2015 (if necessary)
    Public announcement of the winner: May 26th 2015

    The award will be presented during the Ars Electronica Festival September 3rd to 7th

  • FAQ

    Will I be able to change my vote?

    Yes. Prior to the voting deadline, you can change your vote anytime you want. The period for voting will be from April 8th to April 20th.What happens if two or more candidates are tied for first place?

    A run-off ballot will be held in which all the former winners of a Golden Nica again have one vote each to choose the final winner. If necessary, the period for the run-off will be from April 21st to April 27th.