Alchemists of Art and Science

Ars Electronica Center: THU September 8-SUN September 11, 2016: 10 AM-8 PM, MON September 12, 2016: 10 AM-6 PM
POSTCITY: THU September 8-MON September 12, 2016: 10 AM-7:30 PM
Ars Electronica Center
ghostcellCredit: Ghost Cell / Antoine Delacharlery

The huge current interest in forms of interdisciplinary collaboration shines what or many people is a long-overdue spotlight on the multifarious possibilities that can emerge from exchange and cooperation among, on one hand, art and creativity, and, on the other hand, science and technology. Moreover, an increasing number of observers are applauding the fact that, above all, there is finally widespread realization of a paradigm shift having occurred in a world that is  now globalized not only geographically and economically but intellectually as well. Driven by correspondingly wide-ranging motivations, more and more artists are lighting out to explore these territories. They are in search of new sources of inspiration, and they also want their artistic work to make an impact beyond the confines of the art world. In going about this, they often pursue trails that were blazed long ago, and sometimes without knowing too much about that back story.

What is striking is the greatly increased readiness on the part of both individual scientists and a growing number of institutions to make a commitment to these liaisons. Such prestigious research institutions as CERN–European Organization for Nuclear Research, the European Southern Observatory and the European Space Agency now host artist-in-residence programs under the aegis of the European Digital Art and Science Network subsidized by the EU.

As a member of an extensive network of cultural institutions in Europe and other parts of the world, Ars Electronica will be displaying works created in conjunction with these artist-in-residence programs and also staging a series of exhibitions showcasing exciting, innovative projects at the nexus of art and science. New methods of fabrication and of 3-D printing, concepts for rapid prototyping, work in the field of 3-D animation, and artistic strategies for the visualization of scientific data—the exhibitions cover a broad range of approaches, many of which are still in the prototype stage. “The Alchemists of Art and Science,” the second installment in this series, spotlights speculative, futuristic visions that have emerged from the amalgamation of artistic and scientific approaches—for instance, wearables that measure cosmic radiation in their immediate surroundings; clothing grown out of fungi; a 3-D-printed lamp you can create at home with an app and a laser scanner, wearable devices designed to reduce your CO2 output; and concepts for interactive windshields.

Locatable

Artist Lab Jussi Ängeslevä

Jussi Ängeslevä
Beyond Prototyping is a research project looking at the dynamics between the designer, manufacturing process and the consumer in creating everyday products in the age of digital fabrication.

MycoTex

MycoTex

Neffa / Aniela Hoitink
The purpose of MycoTEX was to create a textile out of living material and to develop a real garment out of it. Aniela started by combining mycelia with textiles, in order to create flexible composite products.

interface I

Interface I

Ralf Baecker
Interface I by Ralf Baecker investigates the boundary between two interacting systems rendered into the physical.

Project Florence

Project Florence

Helene Steiner, Paul Johns, Asta Roseway, Chris Quirk, Sidhant Gupta, Jonathan Lester
Nature has many languages. Project Florence takes advantage of the sensibility of plants to different light frequencies and uses it to trigger electrical responses by a plant and compares the similarities between plant signals and natural language processes.

Implant

Implant

Eric Dyer
Implant is an imaginary medical device that fits into a blood vessel, neuron, etc. It is super-enlarged, making the viewer feel microscopic. With a genetic retinal disease in his family’s DNA, Dyer has closely followed developments in gene therapy, including the insertion of healthy genes into the body using viruses.

Second Story Aoife Van Linden Tol

Second Story: Linz

Artist Aoife Van Linden Tol invites the residents of Linz to submit material for the second incarnation of her project Second Story, where she creates explosions in books and on paper that have emotional value. The performance can then be seen at the Ars Electronica Festival 2016.

futureself

Future Self Mirror

How will we look in six months if we keep up at our current rate as far as diet, dental hygiene and sports are concerned? Who’ll we see in the mirror a year from today? These questions still have to be answered with “Haven’t the foggiest,” but students at CIID are already working on another, more visionary concept. The smart Future Self Mirror is designed to enable us to gaze into the future of our physical development.

NHK

Deep Space 8K: 8K Vision, toward 2020 by NHK

NHK, Japan’s public broadcasting company, will show the highlights of NHK 8K programs and share some of the things they experienced and learned as they went through the production process.

cosmic

Cosmic Bitcasting

Cosmic Bitcasting employs sensors to transform the cosmic radiation that neither the Earth’s atmosphere nor the outer layer of our own body shields us from. With light signals and vibrations, the interface reports the detected presence of every elementary particle that, as radiation from outer space, has found its way through the atmosphere to us.

cultureseries

The Culture Series

An article of clothing with sleeve appliqués of leather and copper fabric and neoprene sewn into their structure? And integrated into this electrical circuit is an Arduino microcontroller that interacts with the sleeves’ sensors and transforms the garment into a hybrid organism that reacts to the wearer’s heartbeat? How about matching earrings with a built-in pulse sensor?

MASSES: Motors And Stones Searching for Equilibrium State

Quadrature’s installation manifests the meaning of a Sisyphean task. The sole purpose of the machine is to maintain two large stones on a steel plate in perfect equilibrium. An endless succession of feedback effects and adjustments is necessary to prevent the incessantly threatening, imminent loss of balance.

STONES: Storage Technology for Observed Nearby

Compared to the cosmic dimensions of time and space, a human life and human civilization come across as rather modest. Nevertheless, we tend to interpret findings in the field of astronomy from our limited point of view—for example, such momentous revelations as the fact that there are 40+ known planets on which water—and thus, life—could exist.

obscurity

Obscurity

For Obscurity Paolo Cirio cloned mug shots of over 15 million U.S. prison inmates from various websites and then disguised the photos. An algorithm systematically scrambled the appurtenant information—name, age, crime convicted of and length of sentence—to make each individual completely unrecognizable.

Window to the world

Window to the World

An automobile’s windshield only had to be transparent and shatterproof heretofore. But now, “Window to the World” manifests a futuristic vision of mobility in which the glass front panel separating the passenger compartment from the world extends an invitation to a new form of interaction between inside and outside. The pane becomes an interface that moves driving beyond transportation and makes the car a vehicle for entertainment, play and information.

ghostcell

Ghost Cell

You’ve never seen Paris like this before. Antoine Delacharlery’s animated film isn’t just a close-up of the French metropolis; it’s as if it puts Paris under a microscope. The urban organism with its inventory of streets, buildings and open spaces as well as the people, trains and cars moving about among them comes across like a concatenation of pale cells and nerve fibers.

Alchemists of Art and Science

Ars Electronica Center: DO 8.9.-SO 11.9.2016: 10:00-20:00, MO 12.9.2016: 10:00-18:00
POSTCITY: DO 8.9.-MO 12.9.2016: 10:00-19:30
Ars Electronica Center
ghostcellCredit: Ghost Cell / Antoine Delacharlery

In unserer nicht nur geographisch und ökonomisch sondern auch intellektuell globalisierten Welt, steigt das Interesse an interdiziplinären Kooperationen stetig an. Der Austausch und die Zusammenarbeit von Kunst und Wissenschaft, von Kreativität und Technologie inspiriert  immer mehr KünstlerInnen. Aus unterschiedlichen Motivlagen machen sie sich auf, um diese Territorien zu erkunden. Sie sind auf der Suche nach neuen Inspirationen und wollen ihre künstlerische Arbeit auch über den Kunstbereich hinaus zur Wirkung bringen. Oft folgen sie dabei Pfaden, die schon vor langer Zeit gelegt worden sind.

Die stark gestiegene Bereitschaft zur interdisziplinären Kooperation, wird nicht nur von WissenschaftlerInnen und KünstlerInnen gelebt – sondern immer mehr auch von  Institutionen. So stehen im Rahmen des EU-geförderten Projekts EDASN (European Digital Art and Science Network) nach CERN und ESO nun auch Forschungseinrichtungen der ESA für Artists in Residence offen. Im Netzwerk mit vielen anderen europäischen aber auch internationalen Kultureinrichtungen werden nicht nur die Ergebnisse dieser Artist in Residence Programme gezeigt, sondern auch eine Ausstellungsreihe, die sich der Präsentation spannender, innovativer Projekte and der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft widmet. Neue Methoden der Fabrication und des 3D-Drucks, Konzepte des Rapid Prototyping, Arbeiten aus dem Bereich der 3D-Animation und künstlerische Strategien zur Visualisierung wissenschaftlicher Daten: die Ausstellungen decken ein breites Feld oft noch prototypischer Ansätze ab. The Alchemists of Art and Science ist die zweite Edition dieser Reihe, und zeigt spekulative Visionen der Zukunft, die aus der Verschmelzung künstlerisch-wissenschaftlicher Ansätze entstehen: neben Wearables, die die kosmische Strahlung in unserem Umfeld messen, aus Pilzen gewachsener Kleidung und einer 3D-gedruckten Lampe, die mit Hilfe einer App und einem Laserscanner im eigenen Wohnzimmer kreiert wird, sind auch tragbare Geräte zur Reduktion des eigenen CO2-Verbrauchs oder Konzepte interaktiver Windschutzscheiben zu sehen.

Locatable

Artist Lab Jussi Ängeslevä

Jussi Ängeslevä
Wie gestaltet sich der Herstellung alltäglicher Produkte im digitalen Zeitalter? Beyond Prototyping beleuchtet die Dynamik zwischen DesignerIn und VerbraucherIn.

MycoTex

MycoTex

Neffa / Aniela Hoitink
Eine organische Mode-Innovation: Aus lebendigen Materialien werden Textilien gewonnen und daraus tragbare Kleidungsstücke gestaltet. Statt herkömmlicher Stoffe kommen Myzelien zum Einsatz.

interface I

Interface I

Ralf Baecker
Diese Installation von Ralf Baecker macht digitale Prozesse sichtbar. Und zwar mithilfe vertikal verlaufender Fäden, die an beiden Enden an Motoren befestigt werden.

Project Florence

Project Florence

Helene Steiner, Paul Johns, Asta Roseway, Chris Quirk, Sidhant Gupta, Jonathan Lester
Die Natur kennt viele Arten der Kommunikation – und auch Sprache ist eine davon. Helene Steiner, Forscherin vom Microsoft Research Studio 99, kann mit Pflanzen sprechen.

Implant

Implant

Eric Dyer
Implant symbolisiert ein medizinisches, überdimensional vergrößertes Instrument. Weil in Eric Dyers Familien-DNA eine genetische Erkrankung der Netzhaut vorliegt, verfolgt er die Methoden der Gentherapie genau – auch die umstrittene Einführung von gesunden Genen unter Verwendung von Viren.

Second Story Aoife Van Linden Tol

Second Story: Linz

Artist Aoife Van Linden Tol ruft Menschen aus Linz dazu auf, gedruckte Objekte für ihre Performance Second Story einzusenden. Die Performance selbst kann beim Ars Electronica Festival 2016 besucht werden.

futureself

Future Self Mirror

Wie sehen wir in sechs Monaten aus, wenn wir mit Sport, Zahnhygiene und Ernährung wie bisher weitermachen? Wer wird uns in einem Jahr aus dem Spiegel entgegenblicken? Noch muss diese Frage mit “Keine Ahnung” beantwortet werden. Allerdings arbeiten StudentInnen des CIID bereits an einem weiteren, visionären Konzept: der smarte Future Self Mirror soll uns einen Blick in die Zukunft unserer körperlichen Entwicklung ermöglichen.

NHK

Deep Space 8K: 8K Vision, toward 2020 by NHK

In dieser Präsentation zeigt die japanische Rundfunkanstalt NHK die Highlights ihrer 8K-Programme. Sie erzählen über die Herausforderungen, mit denen sie es dabei zu tun hatten, und berichten, was sie während des Produktionsprozesses gelernt haben.

cosmic

Cosmic Bitcasting

Cosmic Bitcasting ist ein Wearable, das die kosmische Strahlung, die weder vor der Erdatmosphäre noch vor unseren Körpergrenzen Halt macht, sensorisch sichtbar macht. Mit Lichtsignalen und Vibration meldet das Interface jedes aufgespürte Elementarteilchen, das als Strahlung aus dem All seinen Weg durch die Atmosphäre bis zur Erde gefunden hat.

cultureseries

The Culture Series

Ein Kleidungsstück mit ledernen Ärmelaufsätzen, in deren Struktur leitendes Kupfergewebe und Neopren eingenäht ist? Weiters ist in diesen Stromkreis ein Arduino-Mikrocontroller integriert, der mit der Sensorik der Ärmel zusammenwirkt und das Kleid in einen hybriden Organismus verwandelt, der auf den Herzschlag der TrägerInnen reagiert. Wie wäre es mit dem dazu passenden, 3D-gedruckten Ohrring samt eingebautem Pulssensor?

MASSES: Motors And Stones Searching for Equilibrium State

Quadratures Installation MASSES soll zwei große Steine auf einer Stahlplatte unablässig in perfektem Gleichgewicht halten. Eine endlose Folge von Rückkopplung und Justieren ist notwendig, um den im nächsten Augenblick drohenden Gleichgewichtsverlust immer wieder aufs Neue zu verhindern.

STONES: Storage Technology for Observed Nearby

Verglichen mit den kosmischen Dimensionen von Zeit und Raum wirken ein Menschenleben und die menschliche Zivilisation ziemlich bescheiden. Dennoch neigen wir dazu, Erkenntnisse der Astronomie aus unserem beschränkten Blickwinkel zu interpretieren. Wie z. B. so bahnbrechende Dinge, dass auf über 40 der bisher bekannten Planeten Wasser und somit Leben existieren könnten.

obscurity

Obscurity

Für Obscurity hat Paolo Cirio die Polizeifotos von über 15 Millionen US-Häftlingen von verschiedenen mugshot-Websites geklont und unkenntlich gemacht. Ein Algorithmus bringt Fotos und die dazugehörigen Informationen – wie Name, Alter, Straftat und Haftdauer – systematisch durcheinander und perfektioniert damit die Unkenntlichmachung des Einzelnen.

Window to the world

Window to the World

Bislang musste die Windschutzscheibe eines Autos lediglich optisch durchlässig und bruchsicher sein. Window to the World jedoch zeichnet eine Vision der Mobilität der nahen Zukunft, bei der die Glasfront zwischen Fahrgastraum und der Welt zu neuer Interaktion zwischen Drinnen und Draußen anregt. Die Scheibe wird zum Interface, das das Autofahren über die Fortbewegung hinaus zum Vehikel für Unterhaltung, Spiel und Information macht.

ghostcell

Ghost Cell

So hat man Paris noch nicht gesehen: Antoine Delacharlery nimmt die Metropole animationsfilmisch nicht bloß unter die Lupe, sondern betrachtet sie wie durch ein Mikroskop. Der urbane Organismus mit seinem Inventar an Straßen, Gebäuden und Freiflächen samt den darin und darauf verkehrenden Menschen, Zügen und Autos präsentiert sich wie aus blassen Zellen und Nervensträngen zusammengesetzt.