Artist Lab Artificial Skins and Bones + Demo Sessions

THU September 8 - MON September 12, 2016, 10AM - 7:30PM, POSTCITY
Demo Sessions: THU September 8-SUN September 12, 2016, 2 PM - 3 PM
POSTCITY
NaturanslationsCredit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

The Artificial Skins and Bones Group

Winner of the STARTS-Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration: Awarded for innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the arts (and the cultural and creative sectors in general) that open new pathways for innovation.

The Artificial Skins and Bones Group is an interdisciplinary group of young designers from Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin. Their expertise ranges from textile, surface and product design to fashion and visual communications. In the Artificial Skins and Bones project the group freely explored the design of and interaction with artificial bodies and body parts. The projects presented illustrate a great variety of possible starting points, prototyping techniques, and application scenarios. We hope that the outcome will be a valuable contribution to the future exploration of artificial bodies and prosthetic designs.

About the projects

Nature’s patterns, structures, and functions are an endless source of inspiration. We started our project by looking into our body’s design and examining elements that may be applied to the design process of artificial bodies. The idea for this topic developed through our collaboration with Ottobock, the world market leader in prosthetics. Through workshops with their technicians and physiotherapists, interviews with amputees and a visit to Ottobock’s research and production hub in Duderstadt, we added additional topics to our agenda: the language of sensation, interaction with artificial body parts, and the aesthetics of artificial bodies and their relationship to the aesthetics of natural bodies.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Active

Hans Illiger
Active looks into the rehabilitation process of lower-limb amputees and proposes a service design concept as well as a hardware solution for gathering movement data.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Visible Strength

Lisa Stohn and Jhu-Ting Yang
Visible Strength
proposes a flexible, creature-like textile surface that, like an octopus, changes its color and pattern in various ways through muscle stimuli.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Tactile Sensation

Nina Rossow
Tactile Sensation
explores two possibilities of displaying information through tactile feedback: Sens_mat allows passive tactile recognition of materials when direct contact is not possible. Sens_dia simplifies descriptions in pain diagnostics and offers a non-verbal and body specific communication.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Trans.fur

Karina Wirth and Natalie Peter
Trans.fur
is the development of intelligent textiles, capable of altering moisture permeability by adjusting their surface structures. The inspiration for this project was the most versatile organ in the human body: skin.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Shortcut

David Kaltenbach, Maximilian Mahal and Lucas Rex
Shortcut is a customizable human interface device (HID) for upper-limb amputees. The bracelet detects sensory muscular impulses in the phantom hand, translating them into contactless and intuitive computer controlling.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Audio Gait

Agnes Rosengren and Bernardo Aviles-Busch
Audio Gait
sonifies movements to aid the understanding of body balance while walking. The portable system is an easy learning aid for shin prosthetics training, which translates walking movements into auditory feedback.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

The Aesthetics of the Uncanny

Carmina Blank and Sandra Stark
One of the most heated discussions during the ideation period was about the concept of Uncanny Valley. The Aesthetics of the Uncanny explores the delicate balance between familiar prosthesis design standards and uncanniness. The team researched how targeted material conception can help to understand and control this phenomenon and can be taken into conscious consideration during the design process.

Course Instructors: Prof. Wolf Jeschonnek, Prof. Mika Satomi

Participating Students: Bernardo Aviles-Busch, Carmina Blank, Hans Illiger, David Kaltenbach, Maximilian Mahal, Stephanie Nattrass, Natalie Peter, Lucas Rex, Agnes Rosengren, Nina Rossow, Sandra Stark, Lisa Stohn, Babette Wiezorek, Karina Wirth, Jhuting Yang

Main project partners: Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin, Fab Lab Berlin, Ottobock Healthcare GmbH, Makea Industries GmbH

Artist Lab Artificial Skins and Bones + Demo Sessions

DO 8.9. - MO 12.9.2016, 10:00 - 19:30, POSTCITY
Demo Sessions: DO 8.9.-SO 12.9.2016, 14:00 - 15:00
POSTCITY
NaturanslationsCredit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

The Artificial Skins and Bones Group

Gewinner des STARTS-Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration: Für innovative Zusammenarbeit zwischen Industrie oder Technologie und den Künsten (sowie dem Kultur- und Kreativbereich im Allgemeinen), die neue Wege der Innovation eröffnen.

Die Muster, Strukturen und Funktionen der Natur sind eine nie versiegende Quelle der Inspiration. Wir begannen mit unserem Projekt Artificial Skins and Bones, indem wir das Design unseres eigenen Körpers betrachteten und die Elemente untersuchten, die wir im Designprozess künstlicher Körper anwenden könnten. Die Idee zu diesem Thema wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Ottobock, dem Weltmarktführer für Prothesen, entwickelt. Durch Workshops mit TechnikerInnen und PhysiotherapeutInnen von Ottobock, Interviews mit amputierten Menschen sowie einem Besuch der Forschungs- und Produktionszentrale in Duderstadt setzten wir auch folgende Themen auf unsere Agenda: die Sprache der Sinneswahrnehmung, die Interaktion mit künstlichen Körperteilen und die Ästhetik künstlicher Körperteile im Verhältnis zur Ästhetik natürlicher Körper.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Active

Hans Illiger
Active
untersucht den Rehabilitationsprozess von Menschen, denen untere Gliedmaßen amputiert wurden, und ist sowohl ein Service-Design-Konzept als auch eine Hardwarelösung für das Sammeln von Bewegungsdaten.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Visualisierte Kraft

Lisa Stohn und Jhu-Ting Yang
Visualisierte Kraft
bietet eine flexible, kreaturenhafte Textiloberfläche, die, ähnlich wie ein Oktopus, durch Muskelreize in verschiedene Farben und Muster verändert.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Tactile Sensation

Nina Rossow
Tactile Sensation
untersucht zwei Möglichkeiten des Informationsdisplays mittels taktilen Feedback: Sens_mat ermöglicht passives taktiles Erkennen von Materialien, wenn ein direktes Berühren nicht möglich ist. Sens_dia vereinfacht die Beschreibung im Bereich der Schmerzdiagnostik durch nonverbale und körperspezifische Kommunikation.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Trans.fur

Karina Wirth und Natalie Peter
In diesem Projekt wurden intelligente Textilien entwickelt, die durch Anpassung ihrer Oberflächenstruktur in der Lage sind, den Grad der Feuchtigkeitsdurchlässigkeit zu verändern. Vorbild für dieses Projekt war das vielseitigste Organ des menschlichen Körpers: die Haut.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Shortcut

David Kaltenbach, Maximilian Mahal und Lucas Rex
Shortcut
ist ein anpassbares Human Interface Device (HID) für Menschen, denen obere Gliedmaßen amputiert wurden. Das Armband nimmt sensorische Muskelimpulse in der Phantomhand wahr und übersetzt sie in berührungslose und intuitive Programmsteuerung.

Credit: Bernardo Aviles-Busch

Audio Gait

Agnes Rosengren und Bernardo Aviles-Busch
Audio Gait
unterstützt mittels der Vertonung von Bewegungen unser Verständnis von Körperbalance während des aufrechten Gangs. Das tragbare System ist ein einfacher Lernbehelf für das Training mit Schienbeinprothesen, der Gehbewegungen in auditives Feedback übersetzt.

Bernardo Aviles-Busch

The Aesthetics of the Uncanny

Carmina Blank and Sandra Stark
Eine der hitzigsten Diskussionen während der Ideenfindungsphase fand zum Konzept des Uncanny Valley bzw. der Akzeptanzlücke statt. The Aesthetics of the Uncanny von Carmina Blank und Sandra Stark erforscht das fragile Gleichgewicht von bekannten Standards im Prothesendesign und dem Unheimlichen. Das Team untersuchte, wie dieses Phänomen des Uncanny Valley durch gezielte Materialgestaltung verstanden, kontrolliert und im Designprozess bewusst berücksichtigt werden kann.

Artificial Skins and Bones Group Die Artificial Skins and Bones Group (DE) ist eine interdisziplinäre Gruppe junger DesignerInnen der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin. Ihre Expertise reicht von Textil-, Oberflächen- und Produktdesign über Mode bis hin zu visueller Kommunikation. Im Projekt Artificial Skins and Bones hatte die Gruppe freie Hand in der Erforschung der Gestaltung von und der Interaktion mit künstlichen Körpern und Körperteilen. Die präsentierten Projekte zeugen von der großen Bandbreite an möglichen Ausgangspunkten, Entwicklungsmethoden von Prototypen und Anwendungsszenarien. Wir hoffen, dass das Ergebnis einen wertvollen Beitrag zur zukünftigen Erforschung künstlicher Körper und Prothesendesigns leistet.

Credits Artificial Skins and Bones Group: KursleiterInnen: Prof. Wolf Jeschonnek, Prof. Mika Satomi Teilnehmende StudentInnen: Bernardo Aviles-Busch, Carmina Blank, Hans Illiger, David Kaltenbach, Maximilian Mahal, Stephanie Nattrass, Natalie Peter, Lucas Rex, Agnes Rosengren, Nina Rossow, Sandra Stark, Lisa Stohn, Babette Wiezorek, Karina Wirth, Jhuting Yang

Hauptprojektpartner: Kunsthochschule Berlin Weißensee, Fab Lab Berlin, Ottobock Healthcare GmbH, Makea Industries GmbH