CyberArts 2016

Opening THU September 8, 2016, 5 PM
THU September 8, 2016 - MON September 12, 2016, 10 AM - 8:30 PM
Except SAT September 10, 2016 - OK Night: 10 AM - 10 PM
The exhibition is on display until after the festival, until September 18, 2016.
OK im OÖ Kulturquartier
Inferno Cyber Arts 2016Credit: Inferno / Louis-Philippe Demers, Bill Vorn Photo Credit: Magalie Fonteneau

This is a showcase of excellence in contemporary media art. The CyberArts exhibition at the OK Center for Contemporary Art features the best works singled out for recognition by the 2016 Prix Ars Electronica. The world’s most coveted prize honoring creativity and pioneering spirit in media art has been awarded annually since 1987. Thousands of artists all over the world submit their works for prize consideration; a jury of experts from throughout the world evaluates the entries and selects the best. In addition to prize money, each grand prize winner also receives a Golden Nica statuette, which will be bestowed at the Ars Electronica Gala on Friday, September 9, 2016 in the Brucknerhaus. All the prizewinning works are on display in the CyberArts show at the OK.

Once again this year, the CyberArts exhibition will spotlight an array of outstanding works of media art from all over the world. The lineup includes an interactive espionage Installation by Christoph Wachter and Mathias Jud (CH), and Ann-Katrin Krenz’s (DE) robotic milling tools that crawl across tree trunks like parasites and engrave poems in encoded form into their bark. CyberArts’ spectrum is broad and diverse—it encompasses, not only a DIY home surgery system developed by Frank Kolkman (NL) but also “Exhausting a Crowd,” Kyle McDonald’s take on the subject of surveillance. The Prix Ars Electronica also honors the merits and pioneering achievements of important individuals in the history of media art. Prominent art critic and exhibition producer Jasia Reichardt immortalized herself in 1968 with a show entitled “Cybernetic Serendipity.” In recognition of this accomplishment, she’s the 2016 Visionary Pioneer of Media Art.

The Prix Ars Electronica is considered the world’s most important showcase of excellence in digital media art. Its 29-year history impressively documents how quickly the Digital Revolution has progressed during this time span. Hannes Leopoldseder had the idea of launching a generously sponsored, multidisciplinary computer art competition. It was launched in 1987 with judging in three categories. That number has since grown to seven: Computer Animation/Film/VFX, Digital Musics & Sound Art, Interactive Art+, Digital Communities, Hybrid Art, u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD and—the latest addition—Visionary Pioneers of Media Art, whereby four of these categories—two groups of two—alternate on a biennial basis.

Inferno Cyber Arts 2016

Inferno

Among cultures throughout history, the representations of Hell, demons, and punishments are vast. In Inferno, the anxiety of the Singularity translates Hell and infinite punishment into a pseudo-model of infinite automation (rituals) and subordination to the machine.

cyberartsopening

CyberArts 2016 Opening

Interactive, innovative and highly technically sophisticated–on September 8th, 2016, 5 PM, the OK in the Upper Austrian Cultural Quarter opens the CyberArts 2016 exhibition.

Fairylights

Fairy Lights in Femtoseconds

Fairy Lights in Femtoseconds is a 3-dimensional holograph that creates a dialogue between the physical and the immaterial, melting the border between matter and images.

Aurelia

Aurelia 1 + Hz/proto viva sonification

Aurelia 1+Hz/proto viva sonification is an interactive performance that explores the phenomena of interspecies communication, sonification of the environment, and underwater acoustic/bioacoustics, using jellyfish.

Parasitic

Parasitic/Symbiotic

The relationship between humans and nature seems to be out of balance. The human, a being defined by technology, is harming the environment on which its existence depends. In Parasitic/Symbiotic this tension between nature and technology is addressed.

Rhizome

Rhizome

Rhizome by Boris Labbé, a film director and visual artist based in Madrid, is a complex animated film.

Jller

Jller

Jller is an apparatus that sorts pebbles from a specific river by geological age.

Rare Earthenware

Rare Earthenware

Three ceramic Ming-style vessels crafted from toxic mud from a barely liquid lake in Baotou, Inner Mongolia, continually pumped with tailings from rare earth refining process, stand for the amount of waste created in the production of three items of technology—a smartphone, a featherweight laptop, and the cell of a smart car battery.

Marble Machine

Marble Machine

Marble Machine is both an instrument and the song itself—the process of making is embedded within and is inseparable from the process of composition.

Can you hear me?

Can you hear me?

In einer unter ständiger Überwachung stehenden Gesellschaft, in der Regierungen ihre Macht missbrauchen und gegen menschliche Grundrechte verstoßen, wollen Aktionen wie Can you hear me? dazu einladen, diese Systeme herauszufordern und öffentlich unsere Meinungen zu sagen.

Radnom Darknet Shopper

Random Darknet Shopper

Hidden online markets exemplify how the Internet in general, and Darknets in particular, are helping to increasingly blur the lines of national legal dictates: What is legally produced and sold in one country is not necessarily even legal in another.

The Architecture of Radio

Architecture of Radio

Based on your GPS location, the app shows a 360-degree visualization of the Infosphere, — the manmade ecosystem of wireless infrastructure around you.

Crowd

Exhausting a Crowd

Exhausting a Crowd was inspired by Georges Perec’s novel, An Attempt at Exhausting a Place in Paris (Tentative d’epuisement d’un Lieu parisien), and automates the task of completely describing the events of 12 hours in a busy public space like Piccadilly Circus in London or in Amsterdam XX.

Serendipity

Jasia Reichardt

What began as a technological revolution has become our culture and our common reality. Visionary pioneers not only anticipate these changes with their work; they often decisively shape them and, in so doing, establish the foundation of media art as we know it today.

SazaeBot

SAZAE bot

A bot (short for robot) is a computer program that can automatically perform certain repetitive tasks without having to rely on instructions from a human user. The SAZAE bot was just such a program.

Refugee Phrasebook

Refugee Phrasebook

Refugee Phrasebook is an open collaborative project that provides a collection of useful phrases, icons and links for refugees and their helpers to support them after their arrival in a new place.

P2PNetwork

P2P Foundation

This digital community, launched in 2005 by Michel Bauwens, is dedicated to advancing the social potential of peer-to-peer technologies.

Bodingbauer

Die Entscheidung

Die Entscheidung [The Decision] is a computer game for two players who compete against one another at separate computers. Although competing, they have very different assignments to carry out and they don`t receive the same information.

Jennifer Lyn Morone Inc

Jennifer Lyn Morone TM Inc

Jennifer Lyn Morone highlights the human right to own personal data by turning herself into a corporation—Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc (founded in 2014). Her identity, physical & mental abilities, biological functions and data, are assets only she can exploit and potentially turn into profits.

CyberArts 2016

Openen DO 8.9.2016, 17:00
DO 8.9.2016 - MO 12.9.2016, 10:00 - 20:30
Außer SA 10.9.2016 – OK Night: 10.00 - 22.00
Die Ausstellung ist auch nach dem Festival noch im OK zu sehen, bis 18.9.2016.
OK im OÖ Kulturquartier
Inferno Cyber Arts 2016Credit: Inferno / Louis-Philippe Demers, Bill Vorn Photo Credit: Magalie Fonteneau

Es ist ein Best-of der aktuellen Medienkunst: Die CyberArts-Ausstellung im OK zeigt die besten Arbeiten des Prix Ars Electronica 2016. Seit 1987 wird der weltweit wichtigste Preis für Kreativität und Pioniergeist im Bereich der Medienkunst alljährlich ausgeschrieben. Tausende KünstlerInnen aus aller Welt reichen ihre Projekte ein, die von einer internationalen Fachjury geprüft und die besten darunter prämiert werden. Nebst Preisgeldern dürfen sich die GewinnerInnen über eine Goldene Nica freuen, die sie im Rahmen einer Großen Gala (Freitag, 9.9.2016, Brucknerhaus) überreicht bekommen, ihre ausgezeichneten Projekte sind im Rahmen der CyberArts-Schau im OK zu sehen.

Auch dieses Jahr präsentiert sich die CyberArts-Ausstellung wieder als eine exquisite Zusammenstellung herausragender Medienkunstwerke aus aller Welt. Darunter etwa die interaktive Spionage-Installation von Christoph Wachter und Mathias Jud (beide DE) oder Ann-Katrin Krenzs (DE) Roboter-Fräsen, die wie Parasiten am Baumstämme entlangkriechen und Gedichte in codierter Form in die Rinde ritzen. Das Spektrum der CyberArts ist breit und abwechslungsreich: Ein von Frank Kolkman entwickeltes chirurgische System für den Hausgebrauch ist hier ebenso zu sehen wie die „Exhausting a Crowd“ von Kyle McDonald, die sich mit dem Thema Überwachung widmet. Und natürlich werden auch die Verdienste und Pionierleistungen einer Person ganz besonders gewürdigt: Die profilierte Kunstkritikerin und Ausstellungsmacherin Jasia Reichardt ging 1968 in die (Medienkunst-)Geschichte ein, als sie die Schau „Cybernetic Serendipity“ erstmals in Szene setzte. Jasia Reichardt ist deshalb die „Visionary Pioneer of Media Art 2016“.

Der Prix Ars Electronica gilt als die wichtigste internationale Leistungsschau für aktuelle digitale Medienkunst. Seine 29-jährige Geschichte dokumentiert eindrucksvoll den rasanten digitalen Wandel in dieser Zeitspanne. 1987 nach einer Idee von Hannes Leopoldseder als hoch dotierter, multidisziplinärer Wettbewerb für Computerkunst mit drei Wettbewerbskategorien begonnen, wird er mittlerweile in sieben Kategorien ausgelobt: Computer Animation/Film/VFX, Digital Musics & Sound Art, Interactive Art+, Digital Communities, Hybrid Art, u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD und – seit 2014 – Visionary Pioneers of Media Art. Jedes Jahr werden abwechselnd vier dieser Kategorien ausgeschrieben.

Inferno Cyber Arts 2016

Inferno

In der Kulturgeschichte tauchen zahlreiche Darstellungen von Höllen, Dämonen und Bestrafungen auf. Ausgehend von diesen Höllenvorstellungen ist Inferno wie ein Ritual zu verstehen – quasi als Modell der unendlichen Automation und Unterwerfung unter die Maschine, das für unsere Angst vor dieser Singularität steht.

cyberartsopening

CyberArts 2016 Opening

Interaktiv, innovativ und technisch höchst anspruchsvoll – am DO 8. September 2016 eröffnet OK im OÖ Kulturquartier die Ausstellung “CyberArts 2016”.

Fairylights

Fairy Lights in Femtoseconds

Die spürbare Realisierung eines in den Raum projizierten dreidimensionalen Bildes (Hologramm) schafft einen Dialog zwischen dem Physischen und Immateriellen. Fairy Lights in Femtoseconds schafft eine geradezu magische Science-Fiction-Erzählung, die das Imaginäre innerhalb der Welt des Gewöhnlichen verortet.

Parasitic

Parasitic/Symbiotic

Das Verhältnis von Mensch und Natur scheint aus dem Gleichgewicht zu sein. Der Mensch als ein von Technologien bestimmtes Wesen zerstört die Umwelt, obwohl er von ihrer Existenz abhängt.

Pathfinder Generative

Pathfinder-Generative approach for conceptual choreography

Pathfinder [Wegbereiter] ist ein Instrument um die choreographische Entwicklung weiter zu treiben. Das Tool generiert und projiziert abstrakte Formen in den Raum, um in dieser digitalen Umgebung den TänzerInnen neue Perspektiven zu eröffnen

Rhizome

Rhizome

Die Arbeit Rhizome von Boris Labbé, einem Filmregisseur und visuellen Künstler aus Madrid, ist eine sehr vielschichtige Animation. Mehr als 2300 Tusche- und Wasserfarben-Zeichnungen bilden die Basis des Films.

Jller

Jller

Jller ist eine Maschine, die Kieselsteine aus einem Flussbett, jenem der deutschen „Jller“, nach ihrem geologischen Alter sortiert. Der Apparat analysiert die gefundenen Steine automatisch nach Typus und Alter.

Rare Earthenware

Rare Earthenware

Diese drei keramischen Gefäße im Stil der Ming-Dynastie wurden aus Lehm getöpfert, der aus der Nähe von Baotou in der Inneren Mongolei stammt – giftiger Lehm aus einem Becken, das mit Rückständen vom Abbau „seltener Erden“ gefüllt ist.

Marble Machine

Marble Machine

Die Marble Machine [Kugelmaschine] ist sowohl ein Instrument als auch der Song selbst.

Can you hear me?

Can you hear me?

In a society under constant surveillance, where governments abuse power and act against basic human rights, interventions such as Can you hear me? provide us with powerful tools to challenge these systems and make our voices heard.

Radnom Darknet Shopper

Random Darknet Shopper

Versteckte Online-Märkte sind Beispiele dafür, wie das Internet im Allgemeinen und Darknets [Schwarzmarkt] im Speziellen dazu beitragen, dass die Grenzen nationaler Gesetzgebungen zunehmend verschwimmen: Was in einem Land legal produziert und verkauft wird, ist woanders nicht unbedingt rechtens.

The Architecture of Radio

Architecture of Radio

Das Projekt verfolgt das Ziel, einen umfassenden Einblick in die sogenannte Infosphäre zu gewähren – in jenes vom Menschen geschaffene, uns ständig umgebende „Ökosystem“ aus drahtloser Infrastruktur.

Crowd

Exhausting a crowd

Exhausting a Crowd (Eine Menschenansammlung erfassen) wurde von Georges Perecs‘ Geschichte Versuch einen Platz in Paris zu erfassen (Tentative d’epuisement d’un Lieu parisien) inspiriert.

Serendipity

Jasia Reichardt

Was als technologische Revolution begonnen hat, ist längst Teil unserer Kultur und gesellschaftlichen Realität geworden. Visionäre PionierInnen haben mit ihrem künstlerischen Schaffen diese Veränderungen nicht nur vorausgedacht, sondern auch entscheidend mitgeprägt und die Grundsteine für die Medienkunst unserer Zeit gelegt.

SazaeBot

SAZAE bot

Ein Bot – Kurzform für „Robot“ – ist ein Computerprogramm, das bestimmte, sich stets wiederholende Aufgaben automatisch abarbeitet, ohne dabei auf einen menschlichen User angewiesen zu sein.

Refugee Phrasebook

Refugee Phrasebook

Refugee Phrasebook [Flüchtlings-Phrasenbuch] ist ein offenes kollaboratives Projekt. Es bietet eine Sammlung von hilfreichen Phrasen, Vokabeln und Links für Geflüchtete und HelferInnen/Helfende, um Ankommende bei der Orientierung nach der Einreise zu unterstützen.

P2PNetwork

P2P Foundation

Die 2005 von Michel Bauwens initiierte Digital Community widmet sich dem gesellschaftlichen Potenzial von Peer-to-Peer-Technologien.

Bodingbauer

Die Entscheidung

Die Entscheidung ist ein Computerspiel für zwei Spieler, die auf zwei Computern gegeneinander spielen. Dabei bekommen sie unterschiedliche Informationen und haben unterschiedliche Aufträge zu erfüllen.

Jennifer Lyn Morone Inc

Jennifer Lyn Morone TM Inc

Um auf unser Recht auf Besitz unserer persönlichen Daten aufmerksam zu machen, hat die Künstlerin Jennifer Lyn Morone im Jahr 2004 die Aktiengesellschaft Jennifer Lyn Morone™ Inc gegründet.