Radical Atoms Symposia

POSTCITY, 1st floor
POSTCITY
SymposiumCredit: Tom Mesic

The 2016 Ars Electronica Festival theme symposia are scrutinizing the alchemists of our time. Who are these people conjuring up our near-term future? What drives them on? In what constellations and collaborative arrangements do they work? And at what sorts of places are their ideas and projects emerging?

These alchemists constitute a completely new, young generation of engineers, scientists and artists, and their extraordinary visions of the future possess the inspiring power to decisively advance the development of technologies that are already giving us a preview of how the world of tomorrow just might look. The Radical Atoms Symposia will take place in POSTCITY’s conference halls.

Symposium

SYMPOSIUM I.II.: RADICAL ATOMS – IMPACT AND EXPECTATIONS

Taking work done by MIT’s Tangible Media Group and the Ars Electronica Futurelab as the point of departure, this part of the symposium will deal with how the evolution of Radical Atoms will be felt in various occupations, economic sectors and, by no means least of all, our everyday life.

Radical Atoms Symposien

POSTCITY, 1. OG
POSTCITY
SymposiumCredit: Tom Mesic

Die Themensymposien des Ars Electronica Festival 2016 wenden sich diesmal den AlchemistInnen unserer Zeit zu: Wer sind die Leute, die diese nächste Zukunft entwickeln, was treibt sie an, in welchen Konstellationen und  Kooperationen arbeiten sie, und wie sehen die Orte aus an denen ihre Ideen und Projekte entstehen?

Gerade die Visionen dieser AlchemistInnen – einer komplett neuen und jungen Generation von IngenieurInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und KünstlerInnen – tragen die inspirierende Kraft in sich, die die Entwicklung von Technologien entscheidend vorantreiben und uns schon heute erahnen lassen, wie unsere Welt von morgen aussehen könnte. Schauplatz der Radical Atoms Symposien wird die Konferenzhalle in der POSTCITY sein.

Symposium

SYMPOSIUM I.II.: RADICAL ATOMS – IMPACT AND EXPECTATIONS

Ausgehend von den Arbeiten der Tangible Media Group am MIT und dem Ars Electronica Futurelab beschäftigt sich dieser Teil des Symposiums damit, wie die Evolution von Radical Atoms unterschiedliche Arbeitsbereiche und nicht zuletzt unser aller Alltagswelt beeinflussen wird.