Adventure Erzberg



Adventure Erzberg
Erzberg, located in Leoben in the Austrian State of Styria, is Central Europe’s largest open-pit mine, the most important ore-producing site in the Alps, a symbol of Austrian industrialization and the centerpiece of the historic Iron Road. Ore has been mined at Erzberg for over 1,300 years. The mountain began to take on its current appearance in 1890 with the introduction of stair-step-style open-pit extraction. This has made Erzberg a popular tourist attraction.

VA Erzberg GmbH commissioned Ars Electronica Solutions to use digital technology to add depth to the visitor experience at this amazing place. The visitor experience at Erzberg is divided into two phases. Tour participants gather at the downhill visitors’ center, where a Hauly, a heavy-duty earth mover specially adapted for passenger transport, picks them up for their round-trip through the site. Ars Electronica Solutions conceived and installed multimedia infrastructure for both the visitors’ center and the Hauly.

“Ars Electronica’s contribution to Erzberg’s revamped visitors’ center is a total-immersion installation that employs computer animation to get visitors in the mood for their live Erzberg experience.” (Kleine Zeitung, May 19, 2017)

The centerpiece of the interactive installation in the downhill visitors’ center is a visualization of the changes wrought to Erzberg’s appearance by open-pit mining. The installation is operated by a touchscreen terminal; content then appears in dazzling 4K resolution.

Depicted on the terminal’s screen is a timeline in the form of photos, which enables visitors to intuitively select a desired historical timeframe. Information about that epoch then appears on the touchscreen.

The heavy-duty people movers are equipped with video screens, audio equipment and cameras. At especially interesting points along the tour, visitors can watch videos about what goes on there—for instance, blasting ore deposits. It’s also possible to bring up a feed from one of the four on-board cameras to view the ride through this breathtaking landscape from the perspective of one of the Hauly’s huge tires.

Project-Credits: Klaus Dietertorfer, Stefan Dorn, Christoph Hofbauer, Fadil Kujundzic, Pascal Maresch, Markus Wipplinger, Claus Zweythurm

Foto-Credits: Ars Electronica Solutions, Erzberg

Kontakt

Abenteuer Erzberg



Abenteuer Erzberg
Der Erzberg in der steirischen Gemeinde Leoben ist der größte Tagebau Mitteleuropas, die bedeutendste Erzlagerstätte der Alpen, Symbol der Industrialisierung Österreichs, und zentraler Bestandteil der Eisenstraße. Seit mehr als 1300 Jahren wird am Steirischen Erzberg Gestein abgebaut. Sein heutiges Aussehen erhielt der Berg mit der Einführung des stufenförmigen Tagebaues ab 1890. Aus diesen Gründen ist der Erzberg ein beliebtes Touristenziel.
Ars Electronica Solutions wurde von der VA Erzberg GmbH beauftragt das Besuchererlebnis an diesem einzigartigen Ort mit digitalen Mitteln zu vertiefen. Das Besuchererlebnis am Erzberg ist in zwei Phasen unterteilt. Zu Beginn finden sich die Besucher in der Talstation ein um dann mit einem für den Personentransport adaptierten Schwerlastwagen (Hauly) eine Rundfahrt durch den Tagebau anzutreten. Ars Electronica Solutions hat sowohl für die Talstation als auch für den Hauly multimediale Elemente konzipiert und umgesetzt.

„Ars Electronica sorgt nach dem Umbau der Talstation am Erzberg für ein tiefes Eintauchen in den Erzberg. Computeranimiert wird Lust gemacht, den Erzberg live zu erleben.“ (Kleine Zeitung, 19.05.2017)

Im Zentrum der interaktiven Installation in der Talstation steht die Visualisierung der durch den Tagebau hervorgerufenen Veränderungen der Gestalt des Erzbergs. Die Installation besteht aus einem Touchscreen-Terminal zur Steuerung und einem Bildschirm für die Darstellung in 4k.
Auf dem Bildschirm des Terminals wird eine Zeitleiste anhand von Fotos dargestellt, die dem Besucher erlaubt intuitiv einen bestimmten Zeitraum auszuwählen. Auf dem Touchscreen werden zu dem ausgewählten Zeitraum Informationen angezeigt.
Die Schwerlastwagen Hauly wurden mit Bildschirmen, Audioausstattung und Kameras versehen. Die Besucher bekommen an besonders interessanten Orten in der Tour Videos zu den Besonderheiten (Sprengungen zur Erzgewinnung) dieses Ortes gezeigt. Darüber hinaus ist es möglich auf eine der vier Fahrzeugkameras umzuschalten und die Fahrt durch das unwegsame Gelände aus der Perspektive eines der riesigen Reifen zu beobachten.

Project-Credits: Klaus Dietertorfer, Stefan Dorn, Christoph Hofbauer, Fadil Kujundzic, Pascal Maresch, Markus Wipplinger, Claus Zweythurm

Foto-Credits: Ars Electronica Solutions, Erzberg

Kontakt