Parliament’s temporary relocation



Parliament’s temporary relocation
To permit a much-needed renovation of Austria’s 130-year-old House of Parliament in Vienna, the daily business of the country’s legislature and its institutions is now being done in three temporary quarters. The Visitors’ Information Center is being housed in a pavilion on Heldenplatz.

For this location, Ars Electronica Solutions has conceived two interactive information walls about “Democracy & Parlamentarianism” and Heldenplatz (Heroes’ Square) itself, a place of enormous significance in Austrian history. In addition to screening information, interactive haptic elements and in-depth explanations conveyed on touch-monitors will create a one-of-a-kind environment for visitors of all ages.

The first themed wall provides information about the essential aspects of Austrian parlamentarianism, its origins and most important constituent bodies. Plus, visitors can ring a real Parliament bell, behold a 360° view of the Chambers, and follow along as youngsters get an explanation of how democracy works.

The second themed wall presents Heldenplatz as Austria’s meeting place with destiny. Visitors are invited to trace the history of this square, to experience a time-lapse video of the pavilion’s setup, and to examine archeological finds discovered during the excavation phase.

Project-Credits: Stefan Dorn, Stefan Fuchs, Barbara Hinterleitner, My Trinh Müller-Gardiner, Andreas Pramböck, Gerald Priewasser-Höller, Markus Wipplinger

Foto-Credits: Parlamentsdirektion / Michael Buchner

Kontakt

Der Umzug des Parlaments



Der Umzug des Parlaments
Wegen des Bedarfs einer Sanierung des 130 Jahre alten Parlamentsgebäudes am Wiener Ring wird die tägliche Arbeit des Parlaments und seiner Institutionen in drei Alternativquartiere verlegt – in den am Heldenplatz errichteten Pavillons findet der Servicepoint seine temporäre Unterkunft.

Ars Electronica Solutions konzipierte für diesen Standort zwei interaktive Informationswände zu den Themen „Demokratie & Parlamentarismus“ und dem „Heldenplatz“, einem Ort starker geschichtlicher Bedeutung. Neben reiner Informationsvermittlung wird hier mittels interaktiver, haptischer Spielereien und vertiefender Erläuterungen auf Touch-Monitoren eine einzigartige Umgebung für BesucherInnen aller Altersgruppen geschaffen.

An der ersten Themenwand sind nicht nur die wichtigsten Stationen zu Parlamentarismus, seiner Entstehung und seiner wichtigsten Gremien zu finden, es kann darüber hinaus auch eine echte Parlamentsglocke geläutet, der Plenarsaal in einer 360-Grad-Ansicht erkundet oder Kindern bei der Erläuterung von Demokratie gefolgt werden.
Die zweite Themenwand präsentiert den Heldenplatz als Platz mit Bestimmung – BesucherInnen sind eingeladen, den Weg des Ortes durch die Geschichte mitzuverfolgen, die Errichtung der Pavillons im Zeitraffer zu erleben und die archäologischen Fundstücke aus der Ausgrabungsphase zu betrachten.

Project-Credits: Stefan Dorn, Stefan Fuchs, Barbara Hinterleitner, My Trinh Müller-Gardiner, Andreas Pramböck, Gerald Priewasser-Höller, Markus Wipplinger

Kontakt