“White Night” Tel Aviv



“White Night” Tel Aviv
Ever since the historic center of Tel Aviv, the White City, was named a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage site in 2003, the White Night festival has been celebrated annually in late June. The focus is on the cultural uniqueness of the city and its inhabitants. A lineup of events brings the whole city to life for an entire night, whereby admission to most of the offerings is free of charge. The program includes concerts (from Jazz to Modern), art & culture workshops, readings, dance performances and guided tours of museums. Shops remain open throughout White Night.

Austria’s contribution was designed by Ars Electronica Solutions:

– Gigapixel Viewer – Visitors to an interactive installation of high-resolution, gigapixel images could choose from among a selection of photographs of Austrian artworks and the land’s beautiful cities and scenic countryside. The installation’s touchscreen enabled users to zoom in to view minute details and to shift perspectives.

– Brain Ranking – An array of images of the White City’s cultural attractions were prepared, and a specially programmed application displayed these images to installation visitors while they were hooked up a brain-computer interface. As they viewed the images, the visitors’ brain waves were measured and analyzed. The result was a very interesting ranking of the images that was the product of a range of factors such as memories and emotional attachments.

Project-Credits: Harald Moser
Gigapixel Pics: Norbert Artner, Lois Lammerhuber,Johann Steinninger
Gtec: Sarah Breinbauer, Tal Fridman, Christoph Guger, Erika Mondria

Foto-Credits: Tomer Foltyn

contact

„White Night“ Tel Aviv



„White Night“ Tel Aviv
Seit der Ernennung des historischen Stadtkerns (White City) von Tel Aviv zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe im Jahre 2003, wird alljährlich das „White Night“ Festival Ende Juni gefeiert. Im Zentrum steht die kulturelle Einzigartigkeit der Stadt und ihrer Bewohner. Die gesamte Stadt wird durch ein Reihe von Events für eine ganze Nacht zum Leben erweckt. Ein Großteil der Veranstaltungen werden kostenlos angeboten. Das Rahmenprogramm umspannt Konzerte von Jazz bis Moderne, Kunst- und Kulturworkshops, Lesungen, Tanzveranstaltungen und Museumsführungen. Ergänzt wird dies durch ununterbrochene Ladenöffnungszeiten.

Den österreichischen Beitrag gestaltet ARS Electronica Solutions:

– Gigapixel-Viewer: in einer interaktiven Gigapixel Station (Hochauflösende Bilder) konnten die Besucher aus einer Auswahl von Kunstwerken und Städte/Landschaftaufnahmen Österreich wählen. Durch zoomen auf einem Touchscreen konnte bis in kleinste Ausschnitte gezoomt werden und gaben detailreiche Einblicke und Perspektiven.

– Brain Ranking: Es wurden unterschiedliche Bilder der Kulturstätten der White City vorbereitet. Eine eigens dafür erstellte Applikation zeigte diese Bilder den Besuchern, während diese an einem Brain-Computer-Interface (BCI) angeschlossen waren. Die Gehirnströme beim Zeigen der Bilder wurden gemessen und analysiert. Es entstand ein spannendes Ranking der Bilder, dass sich aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen (Gedächtnis, emotionaler Bezug etc.) der Besucher ergab.

Project-Credits: Harald Moser
Gigapixel Pics: Norbert Artner, Lois Lammerhuber,Johann Steinninger
Gtec: Sarah Breinbauer, Tal Fridman, Christoph Guger, Erika Mondria

Foto-Credits: Tomer Foltyn

Kontakt