About

The ARS ELECTRONICA FESTIVAL premiered on September 18, 1979. This pilot project was designed to take the Digital Revolution’s emergence as an occasion to face important questions about the future and to focus these inquiries on the nexus of ART, TECHNOLOGY and SOCIETY. With this philosophy—which remains Ars Electronica’s watchwords to this day—HANNES LEOPOLDSEDER, then director of the ORF – Austrian Broadcasting Company’s Upper Austria Regional Studio, electronic musician HUBERT BOGNERMAYR, cyberneticist/physicist HERBERT W. FRANKE and music producer ULRICH RÜTZEL laid the cornerstone for the ongoing success of this extraordinary undertaking.

FROM PILOT PROJECT TO INTERNATIONAL SUCCESS STORY

This Linz event soon developed into one of the world’s most important media art festivals. The program featured symposia, exhibitions, performances, interventions and concerts, each successive biennial production more multifaceted than the one before. Since 1986, the festival has been held annually and dedicated to a specific theme. The organizers are also constantly on the lookout for interesting new venues—indeed, the consistent effort to break out of the narrow confines of conventional conference rooms and artistic spaces, and to stage cultural and scientific encounters in the public sphere has become something of a trademark of Ars Electronica. Linz Harbor, a network of subterranean tunnels, a monastery and a tobacco processing plant have been among the settings of this festival that defines itself as a confrontation with prevailing circumstances and amidst them.

EXTRAORDINARY SPIRIT

In 1979, the festival lineup was a short list: 20 artists and scientists. Three decades later, several hundred network nomads, theoreticians, artists and technologists from all over the world convene in Linz each year, and about 550 journalists and bloggers report from the Ars Electronica venue. Key contributors to the festival’s incomparable spirit are the approximately 35,000 annual visitors—a colorful mix of old friends and new faces.

About

Am 18. September 1979 beginnt das allererste ARS ELECTRONICA FESTIVAL. Ein Pilotprojekt, das die heraufziehende digitale Revolution zum Anlass nimmt, nach der Zukunft zu fragen und diese Recherche an der Schnittstelle von KUNST, TECHNOLOGIE und GESELLSCHAFT ansiedelt. Mit dieser bis heute gültigen Philosophie legen der damalige Intendant des ORF-Landesstudios Oberösterreich HANNES LEOPOLDSEDER, Elektronikmusiker HUBERT BOGNERMAYR, Musikproduzent ULRICH RÜTZEL und der Kybernetiker und Physiker HERBERT W. FRANKE den Grundstein für die Erfolgsgeschichte der Ars Electronica.

VOM PILOTPROJEKT ZUM WELTERFOLG

Binnen weniger Jahre entwickelte sich die Linzer Veranstaltung zu einem der wichtigsten internationalen Festivals für Medienkunst. Symposien, Ausstellungen, Performances, Interventionen und Konzerte – zunächst nur alle zwei Jahre ausgerichtet, gestaltet sich das Festival ein ums andere Mal facettenreicher. Ab 1986 findet das Festival jedes Jahr statt und verschreibt sich stets einem spezifischen Thema. Auch sucht man nun gezielt nach „neuen Orten“, überhaupt wird das konsequente Verlassen klassischer Konferenz- und Kulturräume und das Hinaustragen der künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Auseinandersetzung in den öffentlichen Raum schon bald zum Markenzeichen. Ob im Linzer Hafen oder Bergstollen, im Kloster oder in der Industriehalle, das Festival versteht sich stets als Auseinandersetzung mit und in der Öffentlichkeit.

EINZIGARTIGER SPIRIT

Bestritten 1979 noch 20 KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen das Programm des Festivals, beteiligen sich mehr als drei Jahrzehnte später mehrere Hundert KünstlerInnen, Netzwerk-NomadInnen, TheoretikerInnen und TechnologInnen aus aller Welt. Rund 550 JournalistInnen und BloggerInnen berichten jedes Jahr von der Ars Electronica. Vor allem aber die rund 35.000 BesucherInnen tragen maßgeblich zum einzigartigen Spirit des Festivals bei – ein bunter Mix aus „alten Bekannten“ und „neuen Gesichtern“.