Entries to U19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD can be submitted till March 6th 2015.
Entries to other 2015 Prix Ars Electronica categories can be submitted beginning in January 2015 till March 6th 2015.

All information about the 2014 Prix winners you will find on www.aec.at/prix/en/gewinner. 2014 winners and jurors will personally have their say on our Ars Electronica Blog.

The “New” Prix Ars Electronica

In 2013, the number of submissions to the Prix Ars Electronica’s seven categories surpassed 4,000 for the first time. To put this in historical perspective: When this competition premiered in 1987, three categories attracted a total of 700 submissions. The Prix Ars Electronica has constantly grown and developed over the years, and made quite a name for itself in the process. It’s the world’s oldest and most renowned competition in media art. And a key reason for this success is the high quality of the judging. In each category, a five-person jury of international experts evaluates, critiques and discusses each entry and finally selects the best for honors. Due to the tremendous number of contestants—among other factors—this procedure now takes five whole days. So, to make a long story short, the Prix Ars Electronica has now arrived at its capacity limits.

Prix Ars Electronica 2014

Prix Ars Electronica 2014: A Mix of Annual and Biennial Categories

In order to continue to give all artistic works the attention they deserve and thereby maintain the competition’s high level of quality, a few organizational changes are now being implemented. First off, two groups of two categories—Interactive Art and Hybrid Art; Digital Musics & Sound Art and Digital Communities—will now alternate every other year. Computer Animation /Film /VFX, u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD and [the next Idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant will continue to be staged every year.

Read more about the Categories!

New Golden Nica for Visionary Pioneers of Media Art

This mix of annual and biennial categories opens up an opportunity to focus more intensely on the historical development of media art—specifically, on the men and women who have done groundbreaking work in this genre. The Golden Nica for Visionary Pioneers of Media Art will single out for recognition those outstanding personalities whose artistic creativity has not only laid the groundwork for media art as we know it today but also made key contributions to our current social reality with all of its specific forms of communication and cultural techniques. The job of nominating and selecting each year’s honoree will be entrusted to a very special jury made up of all artists who have themselves been honored with a Golden Nica since 1987. Read More >>

About Prix Ars Electronica

The Prix Ars Electronica is staged jointly by Ars Electronica Linz GmbH and the ORF – Austrian Broadcasting Company’s Upper Austria Regional Studio in cooperation with the OK Center for Contemporary Art and Brucknerhaus Linz. The Golden Nica statuettes are presented to each year’s winners at the Ars Electronica Festival in early September. The Prix Ars Electronica is one of the world’s premier awards honoring creativity and innovativeness in the use of digital media.

Idea & Concept

Idea: Hannes Leopoldseder

Concept: Christine Schöpf, Gerfried Stocker

Head of Department Festival Ars Electronica/Prix Ars Electronica: Martin Honzik

Project Organization Prix Ars Electronica: Emiko Ogawa

info@prixars.aec.at, 0043-732-7272-781


The 2014 Prix Ars Electronica will honor excellence in these categories:

Here is the Entry Details !

In Computer Animation /Film /VFX, Interactive Art, and Digital Communities, the Golden Nica grand prize is accompanied by a cash award of €10,000. There are also two Awards of Distinction and 12 Honorary Mentions in each category. The Golden Nica in u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD is endowed with €5,000. The recipient of [the next Idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant receives €7,500 and additional support from the Ars Electronica Futurelab in further developing his/her prizewinning concept. The winners in each category will be selected by a five-person jury made up of experts from all over the world, who also have the right to nominate candidates. Read More >>

The prizewinning projects will be presented to an international audience in conjunction with the Ars Electronica Festival and featured in the annual Ars Electronica publication. Read More >>

Plus, all projects submitted for Prix Ars Electronica prize consideration will be entered into an online archive that currently contains approximately 55,000 entries and thus offers unique insights into the development of media art.

Prix Archive