About

PRIX ARS ELECTRONICA & STARTS Prize 2017

The winners of Prix Ars Electronica & STARTS Prize 2017 were announced!
Congratulations to all winners of the Prix Ars Electronica! A total of 3,677 entries from 106 countries were submitted for prize consideration to the world’s most time-honored media arts competition.

This year’s Prix Ars Electronica prizewinners come from the Democratic Republic of the Congo/Belgium/Germany, Canada, Ireland, Slovenia and Austria. David OReilly (IE) is the recipient of the Golden Nica in the Computer Animation category for his work entitled “Everything”; the Golden Nica in Digital Musics goes to Cedrik Fermont (CD/BE/DE) and Dimitri della Faille (BE/CA) for “Not Your World Music: Noise in South East Asia”; and “K-9_topology” garnered the Golden Nica in Hybrid Art for Maja Smrekar. Lisa Buttinger from Schalchen in Upper Austria is this year’s honoree in the u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD category for young people in Austria. They will be honored at the Prix Ars Electronica Gala in September 8, 2017 at the Brucknerhaus in Linz. These excellent projects and visions will be showcased at the CyberArts exhibition at the OK Center for Contemporary Art throughout the Ars Electronica Festival September 7-11, 2017.

 The Prix Ars Electronica: A Brief Retrospective

The Prix Ars Electronica was launched in 1987 by Ars Electronica co-founder Hannes Leopoldseder. The categories at the outset were Computer Graphics, Computer Animation and Computer Music. In 1990, Interactive Art enhanced the array. A category especially for kids and young people was introduced in 1998. A prize for Digital Communities and [the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant premiered in 2004, followed by Hybrid Art in 2007. The Prix Ars Electronica’s most recent innovations came in 2014 with the introduction of a Golden Nica honoring the Visionary Pioneers of Media Art, and the reconfiguration of two pairs of categories—Hybrid Art and Digital Musics & Sound Art; Interactive Art and Digital Communities—which now alternate in a biennial rhythm. The Prix’s highly diversified dramatis personae has included internationally renowned artists (Karlheinz Stockhausen, Roy Ascott, Lynn Hershman, Toshio Iwai / Ryuichi Sakamoto, Chris Cunningham / Aphex Twin), Oscar winners (John Lasseter, Chris Landreth) and creative young trailblazers (Graffiti Research Lab).

Prix Ars Electronica 2014 winnersPrix Ars Electronica Archive

About Prix Ars Electronica

The Prix Ars Electronica is staged jointly by Ars Electronica Linz GmbH and the ORF – Austrian Broadcasting Company’s Upper Austria Regional Studio in cooperation with the OK Center for Contemporary Art and Brucknerhaus Linz. The Golden Nica statuettes are presented to each year’s winners at the Ars Electronica Festival in early September. The Prix Ars Electronica is one of the world’s premier awards honoring creativity and innovativeness in the use of digital media.

Idea & Concept

Idea: Hannes Leopoldseder

Concept: Christine Schöpf, Gerfried Stocker

Head of Department Festival Ars Electronica/Prix Ars Electronica: Martin Honzik

Project Organization Prix Ars Electronica: Emiko Ogawa

info@prixars.aec.at, 0043-732-7272-781

About

Die GewinnerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica & STARTS Prize 2017 stehen fest!

Herzliche Gratulation an alle GewinnerInnen des Prix Ars Electronica 2017! Insgesamt 3.677 Projekte aus 106 Ländern wurden zum traditionsreichsten Medienkunstwettbewerb der Welt eingereicht.

Die PreisträgerInnen des diesjährigen Prix Ars Electronica kommen aus der Demokratischen Republik Kongo/Belgien/Deutschland, aus Kanada, Irland sowie aus Slowenien und Österreich: David OReilly (IE) erhält für seine Animation „Everything“ die Goldene Nica in der Kategorie Computer Animation, Cedrik Fermont (CD/BE/DE) und Dimitri della Faille (BE/CA) dürfen sich für „Not Your World Music: Noise In South East Asia“ über eine Goldene Nica in der Kategorie „Digital Musics“ freuen, die Goldene Nica in der Kategorie Hybrid Art geht an Maja Smrekar (SI) für das Projekt „K-9_topology “. Die Gewinnerin der österreichweit ausgeschriebenen Kategorie „u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD“ heißt 2017 Lisa Buttinger und kommt aus Schalchen in Oberösterreich. Offiziell überreicht bekommen sie ihre Goldenen Nicas im Rahmen der großen Prix Ars Electronica Gala am 8. September 2017 im Linzer Brucknerhaus. Ihre preisgekrönten Projekte und Visionen wurden im Rahmen der CyberArts-Ausstellung im OK das gesamte Festival über (von 7. bis 11. September 2017) präsentiert.

Der Prix Ars Electronica – ein kurzer Rückblick

Der Prix Ars Electronica wurde 1987 vom Ars Electronica-Mitbegründer Hannes Leopoldseder, initiiert. Die Kategorien der ersten Stunde hießen Computer-Graphik, Computer-Animation und Computer-Musik. 1990 wurde der Wettbewerb um die Kategorie Interactive Art erweitert, 1998 um eine weitere, die sich ausschließlich an Kinder und Jugendliche richtete. 2004 wurden erstmals die Kategorien Digital Communities und [the next idea] voestalpine Art and Technology Grant ausgeschrieben, 2007 dann Hybrid Art. 2014 wartete der Prix Ars Electronica mit den bislang jüngsten Neuerungen auf: Erstmals vergab man nun auch eine Goldene Nica für die Visionary Pioneers of Media Art, die Kategorienpaare Hybrid Art und Digital Musics & Sound Art sowie Interactive Art und Digital Communities werden seither abwechselnd ausgeschrieben. Das alljährliche breite TeilnehmerInnenfeld reicht von international anerkannten KünstlerInnen (Karlheinz Stockhausen, Roy Ascott, Lynn Hershman, Toshio Iwai / Ryuichi Sakamoto, Chris Cunningham / Aphex Twin) über Oscar-Preisträger (John Lasseter, Chris Landreth) bis hin zu jungen kreativen Pioniergeistern (Graffiti Research Lab).

Prix Ars Electronica 2014 winnersPrix Ars Electronica Archive

About Prix Ars Electronica

Der Prix Ars Electronica wird gemeinsam von der Ars Electronica Linz GmbH und dem ORF Oberösterreich in Zusammenarbeit mit dem OK Offenes Kulturhaus Oberösterreich und dem Brucknerhaus Linz veranstaltet. Die Goldenen Nicas werden jährlich während des Ars Electronica Festival, Anfang September, vergeben. Der Prix Ars Electronica ist eine der wichtigsten Auszeichnungen für Kreativität und Pioniergeist im digitalen Medienbereich.

Idea & Concept

Idee: Hannes Leopoldseder
Konzept: Christine Schöpf, Gerfried Stocker
Leitung Abteilung Festival Ars Electronica/Prix Ars Electronica: Martin Honzik
Project Organisation Prix Ars Electronica: Emiko Ogawa
info@prixars.aec.at, 0043-732-7272-781