Jury 1987 – 2018

80s 1987 1988 1989
90s 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999
00s 1987 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
10s 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Jury 2018

Computer Animation
Interactive Art +
Digital Communities
u19

2018 Prix Jury: COMPUTER ANIMATION

Gaëlle Denis (FR)
Gaëlle Denis came to London’s for an animation MA at Royal College of Art. She directed “Fish Never Sleep”, which won a BAFTA and Cannes Cinéfondation selection. Later “City Paradise” collected more than 50 awards including the prestigious Annecy Special Jury award and a BAFTA nomination. Her first live action short was “After the rain” for Film 4 and the UK Film Council and her latest BFI funded short “Crocodile” premiered at Cannes’ Critics Week where it won the Prix Canal+ for best short.
Pokras Lampas (RU)
PX18_Jury_CA_Pokras-Lampas
Russian artist Pokras Lampas was born in 1991, and today is one of the most distinguished modern calligraphy representatives. He started creating graffiti in 2008 and soon after was inspired by the Calligraffiti movement; hence he turned his focus to street calligraphy. Later, he was invited to become an official Calligraffiti ambassador while he also was working on and representing the self-developed Calligrafuturism style. He is also participating in collaborations with famous brands such as Lamborghini, YSL, Nike, and many others. In 2015, Pokras performed the first world’s largest calligraffiti on the rooftop of the Red October in Moscow. In 2017 he created the biggest calligraphy in Italy on the rooftop of the Palazzo della Civiltà Italiana in Rome invited by FENDI.
Casey Reas (US)
PX18_Jury_CA_Casey-Reas_PhotoBy_Andrey-Noskov_Strelka-Institute
Casey Reas is an artist and educator who lives in Los Angeles. His software, prints, and installations have been featured in numerous solo and group exhibitions at museums and galleries in the United States, Europe, and Asia. His work ranges from small works on paper to building-scale installations and he balances solo work in the studio with collaborations with architects and musicians. Reas’ work is in a range of private and public collections at institutions including the Centre Georges Pompidou and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Reas is a professor at the University of California, Los Angeles. He holds a masters degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Media Arts and Sciences and a bachelor’s degree from the College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning at the University of Cincinnati. With Ben Fry, Reas initiated Processing in 2001; Processing is an open-source programming language and environment for the visual arts.
Alex Verhaest (BE)
PX18_Jury_CA_AlexVerhaest
Verhaest is a filmmaker investigating the possibilities of interactivity and responsivity within cinematic arts. The basis of each film is a highly narrative script, existing or newly written, around which she creates a cinematic installation consisting of objects, videos and interactive videos. In September of 2013, her debut solo Temps Mort/Idle Times opened at Grimm Gallery, Amsterdam. Her work has been
selected by several arts and new media festivals and competitions; i.e. the FILE electronic language festival in Sao Paolo, the New Technology Art Award in Gent, TAZ Oostende and Arts Festival Watou, and her work is featured in the Akzo Nobel Collection. She won the New Face Award at the Japan
Media arts Festival and the Golden Nica at the Prix Ars Electronica 2015.
Jonathan Yomayuza (US)
PX18_Jury_CA_JonathanYomayuza
Jonathan Yomayuza is a VR Technical Director, and while at Emblematic, he has helped deliver multiple VR projects for the Vive, two of which have been screened at Sundance and another that was presented to the United States Congress. With ten years of experience in the video game industry, he has mastered programs like Unity, Unreal, Z-brush which have allowed him to continually push the boundaries of VR within Emblematic Group. Jonathan is also an expert and pioneer in photogrammetry – a revolutionary technique that is paving the way for the VR of the future, and he is the lead designer of this department at Emblematic.

2018 Prix Jury: INTERACTIVE ART +

Minoru Hatanaka (JP)
PX18_Jury_IA_MinoruHatanaka
Chief Curator, NTT InterCommunication Center [ICC], Tokyo Japan. He has been involved in the activities of NTT InterCommunication Center [ICC] since 1996, prior to the facility’s opening. He has curated exhibitions at ICC, including group shows such as “Sound Art – Sound as Media” (2000), “Sounding Spaces” (2003), “n_ext : New Generation of Media Artists” (2004), “silent dialogue” (2007), “Exploration in Possible Spaces” (2010), “Vibration of Entities” (2010), “[Internet Art Future]—Reality in Post Internet Era” (2012), “ART+COM / Rhizomatiks Research Poetics / Structures of Light and Motion” (2017), and solo shows featuring the work of Dumb Type, MAYWA DENKI, Laurie ANDERSON, HACHIYA Kazuhiko, Rhizomatiks, ISOZAKI Arata, OTOMO Yoshihide, John WOOD and Paul HARRISON, and SAKAMOTO Ryuichi with TAKATANI Shiro. He co-curated “Roppongi Crossing: New Visions in Contemporary Japanese Art 2004” (2004, Mori Art Museum) and curated a Japanese artist showcase at Sonar Festival (2006, Barcelona).
Maša Jazbec (SI)
PX18_Jury_IA_Masa_Jazbec
Maša Jazbec is an artist, curator and academic researcher. She holds a Ph.D. in human informatics, attained at the Univ. of Tsukuba (Virtual Reality Lab) and MA in interactive art, achieved at Interface Culture at the Univ. of Arts and Design Linz. She was a visiting researcher at Ishiguro Laboratory at ATR. She is engaged to the vision and execution of the Trbovlje New Media Setting project in Slovenia, and organizes events integrating science, art and technology at the new media culture festival Speculum Artium.
Karin Ohlenschläger (DE/ES)
PX18_Jury_IA_Karin_Ohlenschlaeger
Karin Ohlenschläger is the artistic director of LABoral Centro de Arte y Creación Industrial in Gijón, Spain, art historian, researcher and curator who has been specializing in media art, science and contemporary culture since 1985. She has been President of the Banquet Foundation of Art, Science, Technology and Society (1998-2006) and of the Institute of Contemporary Art (2011-2012) She co-founded and co-directed MediaLab Madrid (2002/2006) and has directed various international initiatives, including the Cibervisión International Festival of Art, Science and Technology at Centro Cultural Conde Duque, CCCD (2002) and at Rey Juan Carlos University in Madrid (1999); the International Festival of Infoarchitecture at the Ministry of Public Works in Madrid (1997); the In Art International Cybernetic Art Festival in Tenerife (1996); and the International Video Forum at Museo Español de Arte Contemporáneo, MEAC, in Madrid (1986/1988). Previously, she coordinated Espacio P (1985-1990), the first independent performance, music and media art space, founded in Madrid by Pedro Garhel (1981-1997).
Lubi Thomas (AU)
PX18_Jury_IA_Lubi_Thomas
Lubi Thomas curates across digital/new media arts & associate areas. She has developed & delivered a broad range of exhibitions, projects, symposia, residencies, mentoring programs, and public & education programming. Lubi takes a site-responsive approach to her practice delivering programs for a variety of audiences. Her thesis ‘Curating in Uncharted Territories’ proposes a methodology of programming development & sustainability for sites engaged in experimental creative practice.
Victoria Vesna (US)
Victoria Vesna
Victoria Vesna, Ph.D., is an Artist and Professor at the UCLA Department of Design | Media Arts and Director of the Art|Sci center at the School of the Arts and California Nanosystems Institute (CNSI). With her installations she investigates how communication technologies affect collective behavior and perceptions of identity shift in relation to scientific innovation (PhD, University of Wales, 2000). Her work involves long-term collaborations with composers, nano-scientists, neuroscientists, evolutionary biologists and she brings this experience to students. She is the North American editor of AI & Society and in 2007 published an edited volume – Database Aesthetics: Art in the Age of Information Overflow and another in 2011 – Context Providers: Conditions of Meaning in Media Arts.

2018 Prix Jury: DIGITAL COMMUNITIES

Oscar Ekponimo (NG)
PX18_Jury_DC_OscarEkponimo
Named by Time Magazine in its list of 10 Next Generation Leaders 2017, Oscar is the Founder of Chowberry app, a technology driven social enterprise that improves food accessibility to disadvantaged households. Prior to founding Chowberry Inc, Oscar was a technology analyst and defense contractor Nigerian Military establishments. An Alumnus of the EDC/Lagos Business School, he earned a degree in Computing from Nigeria’s University of Calabar and was part of the inaugural Stanford Technology Ventures Program (STVP).
Sarah Kriesche (AT)
PX16_Jury_DC_Sarah_Kriesche
Sarah works as a radio host and journalist for over 18 years already. During this time, she helped to create and establish a radio station in Gran Canaria, worked as a showrunner for “Ö3 Wecker” while hosting her own radio shows at “Hitardio Ö3” and served as Head of Corporate Communications at the daily newspaper “Die Presse”. She also provides voice/vocal training and presentation training. In 2010 she decided to mainly focus on many divergent topics in the widespread sphere of information technology. Since then she covers the impact of subcultures (such as Anonymous) as well as technical achievements like m2m or IoT and their meaning for modern society for Radio Ö1. As every new buzzword like “cyber” or “smart” doesn’t just bring chances but also risks, her stories often have a strong emphasis on (information-)security. Her weekly radio portrait “Vielfalt in Wien” at “Radio Wien” was awarded the “Prälat Leopold Ungar”-Anerkennungspreis.
Leila Nachawati (ES)
PX18_Jury_DC_LeilaNachwati
Leila Nachawati Rego is a Spanish¬-Syrian writer and rights advocate. She is a communications officer at the Association for Progressive Communications and a professor of communications at Madrid’s Carlos III University. She has an internationally renowned profile and writes for several media such as Global Voices, Al Jazeera English, El Mundo and Eldiario.es. She is the co¬founder of news portal on Syrian civil society SyriaUntold and recently published her first novel, “When the revolution is over”.
@leila_na
Dietmar Offenhuber (AT/US)
PX18_Jury_DC_DietmarOffenhuber
Dietmar Offenhuber is Assistant Professor at Northeastern University in the fields of Art + Design and Public Policy. He holds a PhD in Urban Planning from MIT, Master degrees from the MIT Media Lab and TU Vienna. His research focuses on the relationship between design, technology, and governance. Dietmar is the author of the award-winning monograph “Waste is Information” (MIT Press), works as an advisor to the United Nations and published books on the subjects of Urban Data, Accountability Technologies and Urban Informatics.
Kazuko Tanaka (JP)
Kazuko Tanaka
Kazuko Tanaka joined Hakuhodo in 1998 and started her career in account services, further expanding into new business development with leading foreign marketing firms—and at the same time having 3 children. On belief that working mothers, still a minority in Japan, need a place to share information and ideas, she started the “Hakuhodo Working Moms’ Link” in 2012, networking across over 50 companies/ 500 working mothers through “Lunchcation – lunchtime communication” actions. Kazuko joined VoiceVision Inc. in July 2013 as one of its founding members, serving as community producer and facilitates community projects for companies and local governments. Also, Kazuko has been on the joint team project between Hakuhodo and Ars Electronica – Ars Electronica Tokyo Initiative – and has operated four seasons of Future Innovators Summit at the Ars Electronica Festival.
Advisory Board 2018
Shahidul Alam (PK)
Heitor Alvelos (PT)
Dominique Chen (JP)
Derek Curry (US)
Ama Dadson (GH)
Régine Debatty (BE)
Lucas Evers (NL)
Cyrus Farivar (US)
Carmen Gil Vrolijk (CO)
Sally Golding (UK)
Carlos Gomez de Llarena (US)
Laina Greene (SG)
Julia Kloiber (DE)
Aaron Koblin (US)
Mark Kramer (AT)
Peter Kuthan (AT)
Marc Lee (CH)
Patrick Lichty (US)
Daniel Lombraña González (ES)
Geert Lovink (NL)
Haytham Nawar (EG)
Gerda Palmetshofer (AT)
Irini Papadimitriou (GR/UK)
Clément Renaud (FR)
TH Schee (TW)
Fermin Serrano Sanz (ES)
Matthias Tarasiewicz (AT)
Stacco Troncoso (ES)
Kazuhiko Washio (JP)
Stefanie Wuschitz (AT)
Lei Yang (CN)
Martin Zeilinger (AT/UK)

2018 Prix Jury: u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD

Sirikit Amann (AT)
Sirikit Amann has been a juror since the very inception of the u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD category for youngsters under 19 years of age in Austria. She is currently director of cultural education at KulturKontakt Austria, a non-profit organization that promotes education and culture in Austria as well as Eastern & Southeastern Europe. She had previously served as an expert advisor in artistic affair at the Austrian Federal Ministry of Education, Art and Culture and in the Office of the Federal Chancellery Minister.
Manuela Grundner (AT)
Manuela Grundner is a colorful personality who stands way out from the crowd. She studied art history in Graz via the second-chance educational path. Then, with degree in hand, she rerouted once again and founded murbit, an interdisciplinary enterprise that focuses on software programming and organizational development. Manuela Grundner is the CEO. She maintains her connection to art via Film ab…! [Run the film], a creative project for apprentices that incorporates methods from film analysis and coaching as a means of enabling participants to work on their own personality. A second area of emphasis is on using artistic approaches to make company values visible. This project, a co-production with multimedia artist Gudrun Jöller, was nominated for the State Prize in Consulting and honored with a First Place by the Constantinus Award in 2016.
Harald Koberg (AT)
PX18_Jury_u19_Harald-Koberg
Harald Koberg heads the digital games division of the Ludovico club in Graz. There he organizes workshops and trainings for all age groups, but also the annual button Festival of Gaming Culture in Graz. He began to deal theoretically with digital games during his studies as an expert of the BuPP (government office for rating computer and console games). As a cultural anthropologist he is conducting research on various forms of perception of digital gaming and its social significance in the course of his doctoral thesis at the University of Graz.
Conny Lee (AT)
Conny Lee is also a u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD juror of long standing. She’s gained fame on the ORF–Austria Broadcasting Company’s radio station FM4 producing and co-hosting the bilingual FM4 morning show and contributing content dealing with her favorite topics: games, literature and comics. She also moderates events and panel discussions.
Elisabeth Rosemann (AT)
Elisabeth Rosemann has spent more than 10 years developing software; her field of concentration is processing of unstructured data. She studied software engineering at the Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences’ Hagenberg Campus as well as statistics. She’s also a volunteer mentor at Linz’s CoderDojo , an association designed to support youngsters’ efforts to get started in the world of programming.

JurorInnen 1987 – 2018

80s 1987 1988 1989
90s 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999
00s 1987 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
10s 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Jurorinnen 2018

Computer Animation
Interactive Art +
Digital Communities
u19

2018 Prix Jury: COMPUTER ANIMATION

Gaëlle Denis (FR)
Gaëlle Denis kam nach London, um am Royal College of Art ein Master-Studium in Animation zu absolvieren. Sie ist Regisseurin des Films „Fish Never Sleep“, der eine Nominierung der BAFTA und der Cinéfondation in Cannes erhielt. Ihr Film „City Paradise“ wurde mit mehr als 50 Preisen ausgezeichnet, etwa dem renommierten Annecy Special Jury Award und einer BAFTA-Nominierung. Ihren ersten Realkurzfilm „After the rain“ drehte sie im Auftrag von Film 4 und des UK Film Council. Ihr neuester, vom British Film Institute (BFI) geförderte Kurzfilm „Crocodile“ hatte bei der Kritikerwoche in Cannes Premiere, wo er den Prix Canal+ für den besten Kurzfilm erhielt.
Pokras Lampas (RU)
PX18_Jury_CA_Pokras-Lampas
Der russische Künstler Pokras Lampas wurde 1991 geboren und ist heute einer der bedeutendsten Vertreter der modernen Kalligraphie. Im Jahr 2008 begann er, Graffiti zu kreieren und wurde bald darauf von der Calligraffiti-Bewegung inspiriert; daher wandte er sich der Straßenkalligraphie zu. Später wurde er eingeladen, offizieller Kalligraffiti-Botschafter zu werden, während er auch an dem selbst entwickelten Kalligrafuturismus-Stil arbeitete und ihn vertrat. Er arbeitet auch mit bekannten Marken wie Lamborghini, YSL, Nike und vielen anderen zusammen. Im Jahr 2015 führte Pokras das erste Kalligraffiti der Welt auf dem Dach des Roten Oktober in Moskau auf. Im Jahr 2017 schuf er auf dem Dach des Palazzo della Civiltà Italiana in Rom auf Einladung der FENDI die größte Kalligraphie Italiens.
Casey Reas (US)
PX18_Jury_CA_Casey-Reas_PhotoBy_Andrey-Noskov_Strelka-Institute
Casey Reas ist ein Künstler und Pädagoge, der in Los Angeles lebt. Seine Software, Grafiken und Installationen werden in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in Museen und Galerien in den USA, Europa und Asien gezeigt. Seine Arbeiten reichen von kleinen Arbeiten auf Papier bis hin zu Installationen im Gebäudemaßstab und er gleicht die Soloarbeit im Studio mit der Zusammenarbeit mit Architekten und Musikern aus. Reas‘ Arbeiten befinden sich in einer Reihe von privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen in Institutionen wie dem Centre Georges Pompidou und dem San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. Reas ist Professor an der University of California, Los Angeles. Er hat einen Master-Abschluss vom Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Media Arts and Sciences und einen Bachelor-Abschluss vom College of Design, Architecture, Art, and Planning an der University of Cincinnati. Mit Ben Fry initiierte Reas 2001 Processing; Processing ist eine Open-Source-Programmiersprache und -Umgebung für die Bildende Kunst.
Alex Verhaest (BE)
PX18_Jury_CA_AlexVerhaest
Verhaest ist eine Filmemacherin, die sich mit den Möglichkeiten der Interaktivität und Reaktionsfähigkeit in der Filmkunst beschäftigt. Grundlage jedes Films ist ein hoch narratives Drehbuch, bestehend oder neu geschrieben, um das herum sie eine filmische Installation aus Objekten, Videos und interaktiven Videos schafft. Im September 2013 eröffnete ihr Debüt-Solo Temps Mort/Idle Times in der Grimm Gallery, Amsterdam. Ihre Arbeit wurde von verschiedenen Kunst- und Medienfestivals und Wettbewerben ausgewählt, z.B. dem FILE electronic language festival in Sao Paolo, dem New Technology Art Award in Gent, TAZ Ostende und dem Arts Festival Watou, und ihre Arbeiten sind in der Akzo Nobel Collection vertreten. Sie gewann den New Face Award beim Japanischen Medienkunstfestival und die Goldene Nica beim Prix Ars Electronica 2015.
Jonathan Yomayuza (US)
PX18_Jury_CA_JonathanYomayuza
Jonathan Yomayuza ist VR Technical Director, und hat bei Emblematic, an mehreren VR-Projekten für die Vive mitgewirkt, von denen zwei bei Sundance gezeigt wurden und ein weiteres dem Kongress der Vereinigten Staaten vorgestellt wurde. Mit zehn Jahren Erfahrung in der Videospielindustrie beherrscht er Programme wie Unity, Unreal, Z-brush, die es ihm ermöglicht haben, die Grenzen von VR innerhalb der Emblematic Group kontinuierlich zu erweitern. Jonathan ist auch ein Experte und Pionier der Photogrammetrie – einer revolutionären Technik, die den Weg für die VR der Zukunft ebnet, und er ist der leitende Designer dieser Abteilung bei Emblematic.

2018 Prix Jury: INTERACTIVE ART +

Minoru Hatanaka (JP)
PX18_Jury_IA_MinoruHatanaka
Chefkurator, NTT InterCommunication Center[ICC], Tokio Japan. Er ist seit 1996 an den Aktivitäten des NTT InterCommunication Center[ICC] beteiligt, noch bevor dieses eröffnet wurde. Er kuratierte Ausstellungen im ICC, darunter Gruppenausstellungen wie „Sound Art – Sound as Media“ (2000), „Sounding Spaces“ (2003), „n_ext : Neue Generation von Medienkünstlern“ (2004), „Stiller Dialog“ (2007), „Exploration in möglichen Räumen“ (2010), „Vibration von Entitäten“ (2010), „[Internet Art Future]-Reality in Post Internet Era“ (2012), „ART+COM / Rhizomatiks Research Poetics / Structures of Light and Motion“ (2017) und Einzelausstellungen mit den Werken von Dumb Type, MAYWA DENKI, Laurie ANDERSON, HACHIYA Kazuhiko, Rhizomatiks, ISOZAKI Arata, OTOMO Yoshihide, John WOOD und Paul HARRISON, und SAKAMOTO Ryuichi mit TAKATANI Shiro. Er war Co-Kurator von „Roppongi Crossing: New Visions in Contemporary Japanese Art 2004“ (2004, Mori Art Museum) und Kurator einer japanischen Künstlerausstellung beim Sonar Festival (2006, Barcelona).
Maša Jazbec (SI)
PX18_Jury_IA_Masa_Jazbec
Maša Jazbec ist Künstlerin, Kuratorin und wissenschaftliche Forscherin. Sie promovierte im Forschungsfeld der Human Informatics an der Universität Tsukuba (Virtual Reality Lab) und erwarb einen MA in interaktiver Kunst an der Kunstuniversität Linz im Studiengang Interface Cultures. Als Visiting Researcher arbeitete sie im Ishiguro Lab der ATR. Zudem engagiert sie sich für die Visionen und die Umsetzung des Projekts Trbovlje New Media Setting in Slowenien, wo sie Veranstaltungen zur Integration von Wissenschaft, Kunst und Technologie im Rahmen des Festivals für neue Medienkultur Speculum Artium organisiert.
Karin Ohlenschläger (DE/ES)
PX18_Jury_IA_Karin_Ohlenschlaeger
Karin Ohlenschläger ist künstlerische Leiterin des LABoral Centro de Arte y Creación Industrial in Gijón, Spanien, Kunsthistorikerin, Forscherin und Kuratorin, die sich seit 1985 auf Medienkunst, Wissenschaft und zeitgenössische Kultur spezialisiert hat. Sie war Präsidentin der Banquet Foundation of Art, Science, Technology and Society (1998-2006) und des Institute of Contemporary Art (2011-2012). Sie war Mitbegründerin und Co-Leiterin des MediaLab Madrid (2002/2006) und leitete verschiedene internationale Initiativen, darunter das Cibervisión International Festival of Art, Science and Technology im Centro Cultural Conde Duque, CCCD (2002) und an der Rey Juan Carlos Universität in Madrid (1999); das Internationale Festival der Infoarchitektur im Ministerium für öffentliche Arbeiten in Madrid (1997), das Internationale Festival für kybernetische Kunst in Teneriffa (1996) und das Internationale Videoforum im Museo Español de Arte Contemporáneo, MEAC, in Madrid (1986/1988). Zuvor koordinierte sie Espacio P (1985-1990), den ersten unabhängigen Performance-, Musik- und Medienkunstraum, der von Pedro Garhel (1981-1997) in Madrid gegründet wurde.
Lubi Thomas (AU)
PX18_Jury_IA_Lubi_Thomas
Lubi Thomas (AU/UK) kuratiert in den Bereichen Digital/New Media Arts & Associate. Sie hat eine breite Palette von Ausstellungen, Projekten, Symposien, Residenzen, Mentorenprogrammen und öffentlichen und Bildungsprogrammen entwickelt und durchgeführt. Lubi geht mit ihrer Praxis, die Programme für eine Vielzahl von Zielgruppen anbietet, auf die Bedürfnisse ihrer Kunden ein. Ihre Dissertation ‚Curating in Uncharted Territories‘ schlägt eine Methodik der Programmentwicklung und Nachhaltigkeit für Sites vor, die sich mit experimenteller kreativer Praxis beschäftigen.
Victoria Vesna (US)
Victoria Vesna
Victoria Vesna ist Künstlerin und Professorin am Department of Design|Media Arts an der UCLA sowie Leiterin des UCLA Art|Sci Center. In ihren Installationen untersucht sie u.a., wie Kommunikationstechnologien das Kollektivverhalten beeinflussen und ob sich die Identitätsauffassung in Zusammenhang mit wissenschaftlichem Fortschritt verändert. (Dissertation, University of Wales, 2000). Sie unterhielt im Rahmen ihrer Projekte langfristige Kooperationen mit Komponisten, Nanowissenschaftlern, Neurowissenschaftlern und Evolutionsbiologen und vermittelt die dabei gewonnenen Erfahrungen ihren Studenten. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in mehr als 20 Einzelausstellungen und über 70 Gruppenausstellungen präsentiert und in über 20 wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften publiziert. Darüber hinaus war sie in den vergangenen zehn Jahren zu über 100 Gastvorträgen eingeladen.

2018 Prix Jury: DIGITAL COMMUNITIES

Oscar Ekponimo (NG)
PX18_Jury_DC_OscarEkponimo
Vom Time Magazine in die Liste der 10 Next Generation Leaders 2017 aufgenommen, ist Oscar der Gründer von Chowberry app, einem technologiegetriebenen sozialen Unternehmen, das den Zugang zu Nahrungsmitteln für benachteiligte Haushalte verbessert. Vor der Gründung von Chowberry Inc. war Oscar ein Technologieanalytiker und Verteidigungsunternehmer für nigerianische Militäreinrichtungen. Als Alumnus der EDC/Lagos Business School erwarb er einen Abschluss in Computing an der University of Calabar in Nigeria und war Teil des ersten Stanford Technology Ventures Programes (STVP).
Sarah Kriesche (AT)
PX16_Jury_DC_Sarah_Kriesche
Sarah Kriesche arbeitet seit über 18 Jahren als Journalistin im öffentlichen Rundfunk, bei Antifa Radio, Radio RPN, 88.6, PartyFM,… etc. Während dieser Zeit war sie u.a. Mitbegründerin eines Radiosenders in Gran Canaria, arbeitete als Showrunnerin für den „Ö3 Wecker“, moderierte gleichzeitig andere Sendungen auf Hitradio Ö3 und war Leiterin der Unternehmenskommunikation bei der österreichischen Tageszeitung „Die Presse“. Zudem arbeitet sie als Trainerin in den Bereichen Sprechen, Stimme und Moderation. Im Jahr 2010 entschied sie sich weitgehend mit Themen rund um Informationstechnologie zu beschäftigen. Seither fokussiert sie sich auf den Einfluss von Subkulturen (wie bspw. Anonymous) sowie technischen Innovationen wie m2m oder IoT und deren Bedeutung für unsere Gesellschaft beim Radiosender Ö1. Da Themen rund um die Schlagwörter „Cyber“ oder „Smart“ nicht nur Vorteile und Chancen mit sich bringen, konzentrieren sich ihre Reportagen oft auf Aufklärung und Information. Ihre wöchentliche Sendung „Vielfalt in Wien“ bei „Radio Wien“ wurde mit dem “Prälat Leopold Ungar”-Anerkennungspreis ausgezeichnet.
Leila Nachawati (ES)
PX18_Jury_DC_LeilaNachwati
Leila Nachawati Rego ist eine spanisch-syrische Schriftstellerin und Menschenrechtsaktivistin. Sie ist Kommunikationsbeauftragte der Association for Progressive Communications und Professorin für Kommunikation an der Universität Carlos III in Madrid. Sie hat ein international anerkanntes Profil und schreibt für verschiedene Medien wie Global Voices, Al Jazeera English, El Mundo und Eldiario.es. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des Nachrichtenportals zur syrischen Zivilgesellschaft SyrienUntold und veröffentlichte kürzlich ihren ersten Roman „When the revolution is over“.
@leila_na
Dietmar Offenhuber (AT/US)
PX18_Jury_DC_DietmarOffenhuber
Dietmar Offenhuber ist Assistant Professor an der Northeastern University in den Bereichen Kunst + Design und Public Policy. Er besitzt einen Doktortitel in Stadtplanung vom MIT, Master-Abschlüsse vom MIT Media Lab und der TU Wien. Seine Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Beziehung zwischen Design, Technologie und Governance. Dietmar ist Autor der preisgekrönten Monographie „Waste is Information“ (MIT Press), arbeitet als Berater der Vereinten Nationen und veröffentlichte Bücher zu den Themen Urban Data, Accountability Technologies und Urban Informatics.
Kazuko Tanaka (JP)
Kazuko Tanaka
Kazuko Tanaka kam 1998 zu Hakuhodo und begann ihre Karriere im Bereich Account Services. Sie expandierte weiter in neue Geschäftsfelder bei führenden ausländischen Marketingfirmen und hatte gleichzeitig drei Kinder. Aus der Überzeugung heraus, dass berufstätige Mütter, die in Japan noch eine Minderheit sind, einen Ort zum Austausch von Informationen und Ideen brauchen, gründete sie 2012 den „Hakuhodo Working Moms‘ Link“, der über 50 Unternehmen/500 berufstätige Mütter durch „Lunchcation – lunchtime communication“ Aktionen vernetzt. Kazuko kam im Juli 2013 als eines seiner Gründungsmitglieder zu VoiceVision Inc., wo sie als Community-Produzentin tätig ist und Community-Projekte für Unternehmen und lokale Regierungen unterstützt. Außerdem ist Kazuko an dem gemeinsamen Teamprojekt von Hakuhodo und Ars Electronica – Ars Electronica Tokyo Initiative – beteiligt und hat vier Ausgaben des Future Innovators Summit beim Ars Electronica Festival durchgeführt.
Advisory Board 2018
Shahidul Alam (PK)
Heitor Alvelos (PT)
Dominique Chen (JP)
Derek Curry (US)
Ama Dadson (GH)
Régine Debatty (BE)
Lucas Evers (NL)
Cyrus Farivar (US)
Carmen Gil Vrolijk (CO)
Sally Golding (UK)
Carlos Gomez de Llarena (US)
Laina Greene (SG)
Julia Kloiber (DE)
Aaron Koblin (US)
Mark Kramer (AT)
Peter Kuthan (AT)
Marc Lee (CH)
Patrick Lichty (US)
Daniel Lombraña González (ES)
Geert Lovink (NL)
Haytham Nawar (EG)
Gerda Palmetshofer (AT)
Irini Papadimitriou (GR/UK)
Clément Renaud (FR)
TH Schee (TW)
Fermin Serrano Sanz (ES)
Matthias Tarasiewicz (AT)
Stacco Troncoso (ES)
Kazuhiko Washio (JP)
Stefanie Wuschitz (AT)
Lei Yang (CN)
Martin Zeilinger (AT/UK)

2018 Prix Jury: u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD

Sirikit Amann (AT)
Sirikit Amann ist seit dem Bestehen von „u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD“ Jurorin dieser Kategorie für Kinder und Jugendliche unter 19 Jahren aus Österreich. Aktuell ist Sirikit Amann Leiterin der Kulturvermittlung bei KulturKontakt Austria, einem gemeinnützigen Verein in Österreich, der sich für die Förderung von Bildung und Kultur in Österreich, Ost- und Südosteuropa engagiert. Zuvor arbeitete sie mehrere Jahre im Büro der österreichischen Bundesministerin für Unterricht, Kunst und Kultur bzw. im Kabinett des österreichischen Kanzleramtsministers als Kunstreferentin.
Manuela Grundner (AT)
Manuela Grundner ist ein sprichwörtlicher „bunter Hund“. Sie studierte Kunstgeschichte in Graz im zweiten Bildungsweg. Nach ihrem Studium wechselte sie nochmals die Profession und ist nun geschäftsführende Gründerin von murbit – der Entwicklerei. Die Schwerpunkte des interdisziplinären Unternehmens liegen in der Softwareentwicklung und der Organisationsentwicklung. Ihre Verbindung zur Kunst hält sie über das kreative Lehrlingsprojekt Film ab…! Hierbei werden Methoden aus der Filmanalyse und dem Coaching verbunden, um an der eigenen Persönlichkeit zu arbeiten. Der zweite Fokus ist, Unternehmenswerte mit künstlerischen Zugängen sichtbar zu machen. Das Projekt ist eine Koproduktion mit der Multimedia-Artistin Gudrun Jöller und wurde 2016 sowohl zum Staatspreis Consulting nominiert als auch mit dem ersten Platz beim Constantinus Award prämiert.
Harald Koberg (AT)
PX18_Jury_u19_Harald-Koberg
Harald Koberg leitet die Sparte für digitale Spiele beim Grazer Verein Ludovico, wo er Workshops und Schulungen für alle Altersgruppen und das jährliche Button Festival of Gaming Culture in Graz organisiert. Er begann sich während des Studiums – als Gutachter der Bundesstelle für die Positivprädikatisierung von Computer- und Konsolenspielen (BuPP) – auch theoretisch mit digitalen Spielen auseinanderzusetzen. Als Kulturanthropologe forscht er im Zuge seiner Doktorarbeit an der Uni Graz zu verschiedenen Formen der Wahrnehmung von digitalem Spielen und zu deren gesellschaftlicher Bedeutung.
Conny Lee (AT)
Conny Lee gehört mittlerweile ebenso schon zum Kernteam von u19 – CREATE YOUR WORLD. Die Moderatorin von Radio FM4 ist landesweit bekannt – dort produziert und co-moderiert sie die zweisprachige FM4 Morningshow und beschäftigt sich als Redakteurin mit ihren Lieblingsthemen Games, Literatur und Comics. Außerdem moderiert sie Events und Diskussionsrunden.
Elisabeth Rosemann (AT)
Elisabeth Rosemann widmet sich seit über zehn Jahren der Entwicklung von Software, wobei sie ihren Schwerpunkt auf die Verarbeitung von unstrukturierten Daten gelegt hat. Sie hat Software Engineering an der FH OÖ Campus Hagenberg sowie Statistik studiert und engagiert sich als Mentorin beim CoderDojo in Linz – einem Verein, der Kinder und Jugendliche dabei unterstützt, Fuß in der Welt des Programmierens zu fassen.